Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-03-2017, 07:50 AM   #1

Need advise on Hiking Boots

My wife and I are getting prepared to start our next long trip. This is a 4 month trip out west from North Carolina. We have plans for a lot of stops that will involve a lot of walking. We are both in our mid-sixties and in fair health condition. We do not do a lot of hiking at this time but we do enjoy casual walking. We will be going places like Mt Rushmore, Glacier Bay, Badlands, Yellowstone, Grand Tetons and as many of the NP's and SP's as we can find time for. We need to find some good hiking/walking boots that will protect our feet from the trail and from what you might find on the trail. We are looking for any advice on what type and style boot to look for. I would prefer a waterproof boot but I have no knowledge if this is a requirement. Thanks in advance for all of your comments and advice.

Freddie & Linda
2015 FR Sierra 330RLS & 2003 Dodge 2500 4X4 Diesel
TMPS for Camper & TV
Dakota EV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 08:36 AM   #2

Need advise on Hiking Boots

When I was looking at hiking to the bottom of the Grand Canyon I went to Gander Mountain store

Went to their shoe department and they had hiking boots. Guy in the department was very knowledgeable and helped me pick out what I wanted. They probably had 10 different selections. Different boots for different type of hiking.

He also gave me instructions on what socks work well with sweating feet and such.

I bought a pair. Broke them in for 6 month and walked to the bottom of the canyon (7.2 mile) one day and back out the next day (9.6 mile). I never had any issues. Note: I had never done any real hiking before. And note I have not had those shoes on again. That was in 2014. Lol

So these outdoor stores are very knowledgeable in their respective departments.

Russell