Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-30-2010, 02:35 PM   #1

Pulling a Salem 26TBUD with a Ford Expedition

Hi Folks - Newbie here to the RV world. Can someone help me answer some basic questions please?

1) Looking at a Salem 26TBUD - I have a Ford Expedition with tow package. Is this a sufficent vehicle to pull this trailer? Would I need to bolster the rear suspension with heavy duty shocks, and springs?

2) The trailer in question has a GVWR of 7800 lbs - and 5880 "dry", this means that if I pull the trailer filled with water it's 7800lbs and empty its 5880lbs?

Anyone's insight is greatly appreciated.

RJ from Acton Ontario
RJ_Acton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 02:50 PM   #2
Site Team

this needs to be moved to Towing.

here's the specs:
Dry Hitch Weight 805 lb. (365 kg )
Unloaded Vehicle Weight 5,880 lb. (2,667 kg )
GVWR 7,805 lb. (3,540 kg )
Cargo Carrying Capacity 1,887 lb. (856 kg )
Exterior Length 28 ft. 9 in. (8.8 m)

the useless "dry" tongue weight is already over 800lbs.
with the options, battery, propane and cargo, it'll be closer to 1,000lbs., which may be over the tongue capacity of the Expy.
the length is nearly 29'.
with the weight of the options and battery, the actual weight will be around 6300-6400lbs.
that'll be without water, propane and cargo.

it'll be near the limits of the Expy.
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 03:40 PM   #3

The dry weight means no water in any tanks, no camping gear, no food, no clothing, etc... It also does not include filled propane tanks or any options added to the trailer.

The GVWR is how much the tt can weigh after everything is losded, go over that weight and you need to take some things out.

I don't know the specs on your Expy (year, engine size, rear end ratio, towing capacity, etc...), so I don't know if it can handle the tt or not.

The '09 Towing Guide I have states;