Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-19-2015, 08:40 PM   #1

About to buy a FR 295BHS Appreciate Any Advice!

Hi all,

I am new to trailer camping, but I've been trying to do some research and am suppose to go in tomorrow to finalize a deal for a Forest River 2015 295BHS. But, I have a few questions and would really appreciate any feedback the experts on this forum could provide.

As a little background, we chose this model because we have 3 kids (14, 11, and 7) and it has the BH in the back. I also liked the outside kitchen. We also chose this model because the dry weigh is only around 5800#, which I thought was good since my tow vehicle is a 5.7L Tundra (with tow package).

1) We settled on a price of $21,160 for the trailer, seems reasonable. Any feedback here?

2) This trailer has a "short slide" meaning that it only sides out 3'. This helps reduce the weight, and it still feels like plenty of room in the trailer, but will that significantly hurt me if I ever need to sell?

3) We opted not to do the 15k A/C as it comes with a 13.5. We live in Virginia, but it does get pretty hot in the summer. Most folks on the Forest River forums upgraded to the 15k A/C, but is this really necessary?

4) We are buying the hitch, sway bars, load balancer, and brake controller (all installed) from the dealer and they came in just under $1000 for all of that. This part seemed too high, but I'm not an expert here.

5) Do I need the 50 amp power cord? It comes with a 30amp, but again, other folks have suggested getting the 50.

Thanks all in advance. I've picked up a ton of tips and advice on these forums and it really, really helped when I went in to negotiate.
GolfOCD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015, 01:08 AM   #2

That price for the trailer seems very reasonable to me. The price for the sway bar and other components is a little high.