Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-29-2011, 05:47 AM   #1

Canadian purchase via RV Direct - issues ?

Hi, I am from Canada - just outside of Toronto and am looking at a "c" class Forester 3101SS and RV Direct. RVD definitely has the best price and could pick it up in Buffalo but am concerned about crossing the border for the first time. RVD says they will provide the needed documentation and I will be responsible for paying the HST (Ont harmonized sales tax) but is there anything else I need to know about that could be a problem ?

I am a newbie to this whole rv thing and just am trying to educate myself as much as possible. This site is fantastic !!
Houndmobile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 07:38 AM   #2

Location: Canandaigua,New York (The heart of the Finger Lakes)
RV Direct is good or RVWholsalers in Ohio..........so for you I would say RV Direct will take care of you !
BigRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 07:59 AM   #3

All good as long as you don't mind taking trips back stateside when it breaks. Results vary as to getting warranty service on bought in the states. Just do some searches on here and you will see some unhappy people about that issue.
JohnnyThunderCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 08:07 AM   #4

Location: Canandaigua,New York (The heart of the Finger Lakes)
Now thats true ( Warranty service) !! But your close to RV Directs home base in Buffalo, reason why I didnt mention it ! So if your local dealer won't help you, your close enough to make it back to Buffalo !!
BigRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 08:20 AM   #5
Grape Escape

Welcome to the forum.
Only other expense is the RIV fee Approx 200$ and perhaps an inspection since it's a motor home.
Will be well worth the savings.
PS buy what you really want and can afford first time around as it will be much more cost effective.