Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-06-2017, 03:39 PM   #1

Dealer issues, need advice!

Hi all,
I am completely new to the rv buying process so I need some advice. We are in the process of buying a New 2017 Forester 3171ds. We have agreed on the price with the dealer and I have a check in hand for that amount.

I told them before I give them the check, I want to do the pdi and when I take delivery I will give it to them. They are giving me a hard time for some reason. They've given me the run around saying that they have already done a pdi when the rv came in from the factory. I asked for it and they deflected, but now they say they have a copy and want to send it to me so I can come in and sign the paperwork.

From what I've read on here and other places, it's fairly common to have a pdi before payment. Is that true? I'm not sure why it's so difficult to get them to do it.

I just want to make sure I'm not asking for something unreasonable.

Thanks for any advice.
Rook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 03:44 PM   #2

Tell them you want to do a full blown PDI and test everything or no deal. It's really simple. I would tell them that and if they refuse would walk away in a split second. But first I might show up in person so I could show the check to the GM and then tear it up in front of him. Either they want to sell it or they don't. If they made a deal for X amount, so can another.
Mr Havercamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 03:46 PM   #3

I like the way you think!
Rook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2017, 03:47 PM   #4
Site Team

The PDI is to show you where everything is located and document any issues you may uncover during the PDI. I would not pay for a unit before I am satisfied it has been thoroughly checked, and all the systems tested, with me present for the tests.