Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2015, 07:12 PM   #11
TGR
Senior Member
 
TGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 186
As with any portable GPS intended for use in a vehicle, you plug it into the 12V accessory power outlet for unlimited use.
__________________

__________________
2015 Wildcat 282 RKX
2011 F350 Lariat, 6.7 L. Diesel, 8 ft., SRW, Reese R20
TGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 07:33 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
trbomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 981
OK,the amazon page didnt say anything about a plug in adapter.
__________________

__________________
trbomax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 07:46 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Ninemmsig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 111
I just ordered one from Amazon...fingers crossed!
__________________

2015 36DBK5
2015 Chevy 3500 dually
Ninemmsig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 08:00 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Blackhat6mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: St Simons Island, GA
Posts: 1,204
CSM. I've owned the Garmin 760 and the 3590 for 5 years and love both of them. The 3590 has voice recognition and does what you TELL it to do, don't have to touch it. The 760 will give you years of service and do anything you want it to do....and that's a lot'
I hard wired mine to turn on and off with ign.
__________________
Aviator Wright Flyer #1919
Army Pathfinder Vietnam, 3 tours
DAV, MOPH, VFW, NRA, 1stCav. ABN
Blackhat6mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 08:14 PM   #15
CMSgt. (Ret) Charlie Brown
 
CMSgt (Ret) Charlie Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Cumming, Ga
Posts: 253
I found one on e-bay for $300. Took a shot and got it today. We are headed to New England this summer and I understand they have a lot of restrictions up there regarding RV's so just trying to be proactive.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
CMSgt (Ret) Charlie Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 08:55 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 33
Got a 76RV before our maiden trip and really like except for one thing. It wanted me to take a route different route than the one I know that was ok for the FR3. Had to just turn it off. Did like the fact we could take out of the FR3 an use it in the toad to get around a strange city.
__________________
WVFR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 08:56 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
The Wandering Irishman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 125
We've had the 760 for about 9 months now, it's served us well on every trip.

I don't like the Garmin PC trip routing software "Basecamp". I like to route our trips on the computer so I can easily add stops or change the route it sends us. I think the software is horrible, but like someone said there is a learning curve and maybe I just haven't gotten it yet. I like the Good Sam on-line trip routing, but that only exports to their GPS unit, not any other ones (as far as I've been able to figure out at least).

One feature I like on the 760 is the "up ahead" which allows you to customize what you see, well, up ahead. I have mine set for rest stops, gas stations and restaurants. It shows an icon for each with the mileage to the next one. You can select from some pre-sets, but also do a custom search. I tried "Flying J" which was randomly accurate. I also tried "campground" or "camping" with absolutely no luck. Being an RV specific unit I do wish "campground" was an out of the box choice, but maybe I just need to plan my road trips and overnight stops better.

The lifetime map updates are an excellent feature, as well as the live traffic "where available" which is the major cities. The Garmin website links to the traffic areas. I recommend updating your unit as soon as you get it, and regularly after that. I make sure I update it before every major trip.

The weather is a "for fee" service but I can't quite figure it out so will spend some time with it. I believe it requires the SmartLink app to connect via bluetooth to your smartphone, which I have installed and paired with the 760. I purchased the weather option in the SmartLink app and can view local weather or road conditions in the app, but can't seem to get that information consistently on my GPS unit. Once I can figure that out I'll be happy.

I started out with the Garmin bean bag mount, which is great but tended to bounce around on my motorhome's dash. I switched to the Garmin friction mount before our last 2,000 mile trip and can't say enough good things about it. It works perfectly in the RV and towed car as well.

I have a backup camera monitor in my motorhome so cannot comment on that functionality of the 760 as I don't use it.

Overall very satisfied with the Garmin 760.

Tom
__________________
The Wandering Irishman

2014 Georgetown 351DS, 5 kids, 2 dogs, and an amazing wife!

The Wandering Irishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2015, 11:50 AM   #18
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramblin Recks View Post
I like it so far. I tested the low bridge warning on a known location (not towing) it it worked. I like the size of the screen and the different data you can display. So far so good. I'm going to get an anti-glare adapter for it.
On my older Dodge, the cup holder set-up is lower dash mounted and gps , with a little help from 3M...( velcro), it's a no glare deal. But, I also made a dash mount under the front lip, so if I need to see better I can. This way, I don't need to move out'a sight if leaving tv for a shopping spree. Also, glad to see the low bridge warning worked. On some overpasses, the height signs are NOT correct as when they re-pave the signs never seem to keep up.
__________________
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2015, 12:28 PM   #19
geezer with gadgets
 
757Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: SE Virginia
Posts: 461
[QUOTE=The Wandering Irishman;821712]We've had the 760 for about 9 months now, it's served us well on every trip.

Thanks for this review. We purchased one last month, but haven't had a chance to use it yet. Glad to know that it works well.


__________________


Sent from my Atari 2600
2011 Sunseeker 3170ds "Ladybug"
2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee TOAD
Days camped 2015: 37; 2016: 66; 2017: 86
757Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2015, 09:06 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
1nshort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Annapolis Area
Posts: 250
RV760

Have had mine over a year. Works great, updated maps three times. That process does take a bit of time connected to your computer using the Garmin app. As always, go online and check overpass/bridve clearances on your route online...nothing is 100% correct. As for having to charge the battery every 4 hours or so...any large screen device will suck up battery juice quickly. If you need a lot of time not plugged in, simply buy an external USB power supply. There are literally dozens of them on the market of various power capabilities.
1n
__________________

__________________
1nshort is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.