Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-14-2012, 04:38 PM   #1
rip

Process of ordering a rv from factory thru dealer

I'm new to the process of ordering a RV from the FR factory thru a dealer. I looked on thread and saw some discussion of deposit but not the overall process from placing an order progressing to delivery out the driveway.

I'm ordering a Rockwood Windjammer 2809W from my local dealer, RV Station, Bryan, TX. I did my homework and knew the options I wanted from online research and talking with campers.

After Kelly L, the salesman, and I picked out the options we developed an agreeable basic price (@25K incl freight) and an agreeable drive-out price (@27K incl sales taxes, title, licenses, and other fees). We documented all this on a 2013 Winjammer Travel Trailer MSRP Order Form and an RV Station order form that outlines the basic price with freight and the state sales, registration, title, fees, etc. Kelly, Steve B, the general manager, and I signed these two things.

They said RV Station requires a fifty percent deposit to place a factory order. I thought this was high, but wrote a check for half, and Jamie L, the office manager, gave me a receipt for the check. We did the above steps about a week ago today with the deposit on Monday.

Last week, Kelly said we three would also need to sign a "build sheet" returned for the order at the factory (to insure we all agree once again on the included options). That has not come in yet.

That's all I know about ordering a trailer from the factory thru a dealer so far. Perhaps some of the forum members can embelish what happens between now and whenever the trailer is eventually delivered to me. I'm a newbie to working with RV dealers and fairly clueless about all this.
rip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 04:54 PM   #2