Old 07-30-2017, 10:01 AM   #1

Tire selection

Time to replace my ST205/75R14, load rating C, tires before a long trip. I've ruled out some of the cheapest brands. This is what I'm left with:

Hercules, $67
Heartland, $70
Carlisle, $75
Maxxiss M8008, $108
Goodyear Endurance, $108

Price is a factor, but so is reliability. As always, there may be trade-offs. The local dealer for the Hercules I've long had good dealings with (not for trailer tires as of yet, though), but the one for the others also comes highly recommended.

I guess my questionis: what does the extra $$ pay for in, say, Carlisle v. Hercules, or for the top two at 40%-plus extra?

Thanks much & God bless,
James

KellyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 10:19 AM   #2

Not a bad idea to go up to load range d. Also the higher price tires will give you more peace of mine

vp22er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 10:34 AM   #3

I'm no expert, but I purchased RV tires.

I chose Goodyear Endurance. I'll tell you the basic background I learned. Goodyear's ST trailer option used to be called the Marathon. It had a good reputation when made in the USA, but GY moved production to China. The tires were less quality and the reputation dropped like a rock. The Endurance is now their new ST tire and they have brought production back to USA. Many feel it is a gamble to trust that GY has a better handle on quality control. I took the gamble.