Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-31-2013, 07:03 PM   #21

Debt.
Old 03-31-2013, 07:10 PM   #22

I have been a pilot most of my adult life and I currently work as a Deputy Sheriff who splits his time between car patrol and air unit pilot. My wife works at home which saves us a ton of money.

I have wanted to build my own airplane since I was 18 (now i'm 40) but never had the funds. If you guys think the RV is expensive then you need to take a look at the home built airplane world where we are talking $25k just for a motor and 10k on a GPS.

The DW and I worked hard and payed off most of the debt we occured when we were young and dum (credit cards ect.) and I was about to pull the trigger on a Vans RV-8 kit. I would have had around 75k in that when done and about 5 years of my life building it.

I always said I couldn't afford to build my own plane and one day a good friend that owns his own aviation buisness asked me "when are you going to sh*t or get off the pot and start building". I said "I cann't afford it right now" his answer was to start naming off every major thing I had bought over the past 5 years (ATV, jet ski, ect) and it was pretty clear that I could have built a plane with that money.

So I said I'm going to do it, then about two days before I pulled the trigger my then 5 year old daughter jumped in my lap and asked me when we were going to Disney. I will never forget what I said "honey we cant go to Disney daddy has to pay for his airplane" and it hit me like a lighting bolt.

I was about to suck all the family income up for the next 5 years to build what I wanted not what the family needed. I then rembered all the camping trips I had gone on as a kid with my now deceased father in the family pop-up and I started looking at pop-ups.