Old 05-04-2012, 02:28 PM   #1

The power failed on the dometic awning on my Solera. Just got back from a two week trip. The awning failed about a week into the trip. Luckily in the stored position. I found the 15 amp fuse in the panel near the entrance step was fried. I replaced it and it was still a no go. I am still in my first year of ownership so I assume I am covered under warranty. Plan on contacting Domestic and the dealer on Monday but was hoping there is a simple fix before spending time on hold. Anyone know if there is a reset anywhere?

Old 05-04-2012, 02:32 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

No other reset or breaker that I know of but I have a suggestion that you could try.
unplug motor connection at the motor then replace fuse.
if it still blows then you can eliminate the motor and narrow down your search.
on my fifth wheel where the wires from the awning enter the basement there's a connection.
then the wires are solid all the way up to the switch.
Try that.

Old 05-08-2012, 10:05 AM   #3

Hi, I have a Dometic Power Awning on my caravan in West Australia. The motor burnt out mid December 2011 and was replaced under warranty in February 2012. The replacement motor has now also burnt out! I spoke to the Dometic Warranty Agent today and he indicated that when replacing a Power Awning Motor, the operating switch should also be replaced (it wasn't with the first replacement). When the motor first failed, a check of circuit breakers & fuses didn't reveal any problems. I would be interested to learn if the operating switch is also replaced in the US when a motor fails.
Old 05-08-2012, 02:08 PM   #4
GM

I would make sure you replace the operating switch, in some cases I think that's what was causing the motor issues.