Old 12-06-2013, 07:51 PM   #1

Finally have my Canadian 24R

Well after over a year of waiting and a number of missed delivery dates, I finally have my 24R built on a 2014 Canadian chassis. I was told it was the first Canadian unit off the line. It was just delivered early this week. It took FR a long time to make it happen but it finally all came together.

The unit looks great and we have our first tripped planned down to Florida and South Carolina over Christmas. I was originally planning on pulling a car along, but the unit is so maneuverable compared to the Georgetown we had. Drives a lot like a car.

I started the process of inspection and would like to know what are the common things to look for in terms of problems. I have already installed Max vent covers and I am planning to rebuild and enlarge some of the drawers. I design bathrooms for a living and I can not believe how much space is wasted inside these units.

Mike

Old 12-06-2013, 08:09 PM   #2

Congratulations Mike, hope your as lucky with your 24R as we have been with our 24S, post some pic when you get the chance.

hkreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 09:45 PM   #3

Mike, just curious, what is the difference with a canadien MB chassis, and does the warranty finally cover you up there.
Old 12-07-2013, 07:37 AM   #4

I am not sure if there are any substantial differences between the two. There are of course some minor ones like daytime running lights, metric speedometer and there is a French language owners manual. This unit also has a CSA certification which probably means not much more than a Canadian company collecting a fee for a sticker to put on the side of the unit.

I was surprised to find only 4 seatbelts. My understanding is that Canadian vehicle specs for motorhomes require a seatbelt for every sleeping spot, which would mean six seatbelts not four.