Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2014, 10:41 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Mikegjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Orange Park Fl.
Posts: 1,329
Fresh Water Pump

FYI, my water pump stopped pumping, but I could hear it trying to run. Waited until I got home to trouble shoot and see if I could do anything.

After removing inlet and outlet lines with the two thumb nuts on the pump, I used compressed air to blow in both lines to ensure they were open. I removed the filter screen at the pump and checked for trash of which there was a small amount that did not get to the pump. Reinstalled the screen and tried it again without success. Blew air trough the inlet side of the pump and walla, something came loose. Hooked everything back up and all is well.

Thought this little exercise might help someone that may end up with a similar problem.
__________________

__________________
2014 Solera 24R
USN Retired
Mikegjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 12:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Taranwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NEPA
Posts: 1,446
So what was it that "came loose?" Something identifiable? Construction debris? Wonder how it made it through the screen...?
__________________

__________________
2015 XLR Hyperlite 30HFS5 (mods being performed regularly)
2009 Salem LA 292fkds (gone)
Nights- ('12)23 ('13)23 ('14)15 ('15)31 ('16)27 ('17) 20
2016 Ford Fusion Titanium (gulping gas again, camping support vehicle)
2014 Harley Davidson FLHX (XLR cargo)
2011 Ram 2500 CC 4X4 CTD, B&W Companion (toy hauler hauler)
Taranwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 12:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mikegjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Orange Park Fl.
Posts: 1,329
I believe it was construction debris, but I did not see it. I suspect small pieces getting through the screen. The main filter should have it now and that I will check at next filter change.
__________________
2014 Solera 24R
USN Retired
Mikegjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 06:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 140
My pump has lost prime twice before. I had to prime by putting water into pump inlet. Mine has small inlet screen that was removable but mounts horizontal so does not hold water. Left partial attached to feed from tank and let water drain from end then attached.
__________________
13larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 07:21 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mikegjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Orange Park Fl.
Posts: 1,329
I can see the water level in the tank so I don't think mine lost prime. The level is above the pump element. Water did drain from the line when I loosened it and the inlet screen canister was full. Still an interesting idea!
__________________
2014 Solera 24R
USN Retired
Mikegjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pump, water, water pump

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.