Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2013, 07:20 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Generator Issue

We have a 2013 Solera 24r with the diesel generator we bought this spring. The generator kicks off after a couple of minutes when the air conditioner is turned on and shows an overload error on the display. (The generator only had a couple of hours on it at the time.) We've taken it in twice and the first time they replaced "the capacitor" in the air conditioner and told us it was fixed. When I picked it up it blew immediately when I tried it. We had a 2 week trip planned starting the following day so they said to bring it back after. I tried it a couple of more times while we were traveling with the same result. Well we took it in and now the shop can not make it blow. I suspect this is because the temperature is no longer in the 90s.
My questions are:
1. Anyone else have this issue?
2. Our dealer says that they will report to the factory that we are having the issue and it will be covered under warranty if this happens next summer. Anyone have experience with something like this?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
EagleDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 07:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 632
Very few of us have the diesel gen. I have the propane, it seems to work fine.
__________________

__________________
DebbieMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 08:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Sandiegodoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 623
Our salesman told us the diesel generator could only run the smaller air conditioner so if u have the larger upgraded unit with the heat pump maybe that's the problem
That's why we went with propane
Wanted bigger unit
__________________
Sandiegodoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 07:11 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
What size generator do you have: how many running watts?
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 08:25 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
We have the smaller air conditioner to match the diesel generator. 3.2KW generator and the standard 13,500 air conditioner.
__________________
EagleDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 08:56 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 12
We had a similar problem. First we were told before putting the AC to wait for the Microwave to come on. That worked but then we started having problems keeping the generator running. The change oil code came on so we had the oil changed in the generator and everything is working properly.
__________________
Marque74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 09:57 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Taylorgso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 775
We have the 3.6kw Propane Genny. SWMBO just HAD to have her Keurig on board found out cannot run the Keurig, the microwave, and the AC all at once!!! Guess we need to go to a Prevost next time for her to have ALL her conveniences!
__________________
Ed (N4RWU) & Becky Taylor
Mistie (Walks 4-down)
Greensboro, NC
Taylorgso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 03:21 PM   #8
Navion IQ 24V
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 36
I have pretty much the same set up with the Coleman 14,800 BTU Heat pump & 3200 watt Onan Diesel genny. It has performed flawless thus far. I would bring it to the cummins dealer & have them load test it to be sure.
__________________
Sold 2012 Georgetown 350F Gasser
Navion IQ 24V
Wildhog56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 03:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
At 3.2 kw, this will give you 26 amps available to run 120 volts appliances and converter. AC will take app 14 amps, water heater app 11 amps which already gives you 26 amps. So any more load on it will cause an overload eg: converter supplying battery and lights, tv on, microwave alone takes 13 amps on high setting. So maybe your generator is OK and you need to manage use of electricity more closely. If you put your water heater on propane only when using AC it will let you have more amps for other appliances.... Have a look at this post it will help with amps draw for appliances in RV......

normal appliance amp draws
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 04:05 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
It overloads with nothing on but the AC unit. Water heater is propane only, fridge was off. Microwave clock comes on and the battery charger would have been on a trickle since we were fully charged, but that was it. It has LED lighting, but they were off too.
__________________

__________________
EagleDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.