Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2015, 10:45 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
Hardwired Surge Protector

I have a 2014 R24 Solera. I'm wanting to install a surge protector hardwired with remote monitor (Progressive Ind. HW30C 30 amp). Looking for a place to best connect in-line with the external power. Is there any junction boxes between the external power plug located on the outside, driver side and the distribution center under the stove?
__________________

__________________
HossHogRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 10:46 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
Hardwired not Hardware
__________________

__________________
HossHogRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 10:54 AM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
If room allows put it behind distribution center.
Pull wires from distribution center and install in one end of surge.
Run new wires to distribution center.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "4 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 09:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
CharSolera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 170
I have a 2014 24S Solera. The Progressive unit was put into the storage bay just to the rear of the door. The monitor is inside by the steps (on the side of the sink cabinet). We built a little cabinet inside the bay for it.
__________________
Charlene
and catpanions, Purrl & Lucy Lu
2014 Solera 24S
CharSolera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 10:54 PM   #5
2012 Solera 24S
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NW Illinois
Posts: 107
You might want to check out this thread for a few ideas:

EMD-HW30C
__________________
Nats is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 10:15 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 28
I have a 24R and purchased a Progressive unit also. I installed the unit in the storage bay where the electric cable enters. I just cut the cord and wired in the unit. I installed the remote unit inside the bathroom sink cabinet. My RV has the electric cord hardwired to the RV. I understand some later models have a loose cord which plugs in the side of the RV. If you have the loose cord type you may need to look for a different location.
__________________
Eric99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 10:27 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric99 View Post
I have a 24R and purchased a Progressive unit also. I installed the unit in the storage bay where the electric cable enters. I just cut the cord and wired in the unit. I installed the remote unit inside the bathroom sink cabinet. My RV has the electric cord hardwired to the RV. I understand some later models have a loose cord which plugs in the side of the RV. If you have the loose cord type you may need to look for a different location.
Thanks but mine has the loose cord that plugs into the side of RV. Thinking behind the distribution center under stove may be where I need to put it. I'll pull it out next week and see if it can figure out where to splice it in, I assume where the main 30 amp fuse is.
__________________
HossHogRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 12:59 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Alabama
Posts: 189
I have a 35 ft Windjammer with a detachable shore plug which connects on the side near back. There is a sofa on my back wall and I was able to pull it out and get enough room to install my hardwire EMS next to where power enters the trailer. I was able to detach the 10 gauge wire from the back of the 30 amp twist lock connector and connect it to the progressive industries box. I then got a 12 inch piece of 10 gauge wire (Lowes) and attached that from the EMS to the connector. Box is mounted to the side of the wall out of view and the display can be moved to the side window so I can see it while at the pedestal or moved to see inside coach. Works fabulous! I wanted to get mine as close to the pedestal as possible so any huge spike would not travel too far to get to the EMS box.
__________________
2014 Windjammer 3025W Diamond 34.5 ft 8300 lbs.
2010 F150 SC XLT 4x4 5.4L, 3.55 gears 20" rims
12 k Equalizer WDH, Firestone Airbags, HD Bilsteins
TST 507RV TPMS
Zolin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 07:42 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
I'm planning on pulling out the distribution center under the stove this weekend and see if I can figure out where to tap in at. I know obviously to disconnect shore power first, but should I also disconnect the cabin batteries under the steps before pulling the housing forward?
__________________
HossHogRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 07:45 AM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by HossHogRV View Post
I'm planning on pulling out the distribution center under the stove this weekend and see if I can figure out where to tap in at. I know obviously to disconnect shore power first, but should I also disconnect the cabin batteries under the steps before pulling the housing forward?
Shouldn't have to disconnect batteries but if it makes you feel comfortable go ahead and do so.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "6 nights"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.