Old 10-01-2013, 08:38 PM   #1
Cool Hot water heater draining

I'm a newbie to the RV world so learning a lot. I have a Solera 24S. What is the best way to drain the hot water heater? The dealer told me to loosen the anode rod and drain it there. Seems like there should be an easier way since the rod is so hard to get back in.
Thanks for your help!

rvbrodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 09:05 PM   #2
He was correct. Make sure the water is cool (hasnt been heated in hours, next day is even better) and release the pressure by the pressure relief valve, just lift up on it and water will spray everywhere. I pull the anode and just set it back in the hole for the winter. I only drain my hot water tank before the winter, not on a regular basis. Hope that helps.

Matt & Kathie
2017 Grey Wolf 27RR
rotorhead1250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 09:06 PM   #3
Your dealer was right. Best thing to do is to go out and buy yourself the correct size socket for the rod, and practice putting it back in. After a few times, it gets easier. The trick is to visualize the end of the rod (that you can't see) being level going all the way in, and holding as such while you thread it in. Then it goes back in easier. You'll get it. Also, some teflon tape on the threads of the rod help it seal and make it easier to get in and out. Good luck!
2015 XLR Hyperlite 30HFS5 (mods being performed regularly)
2009 Salem LA 292fkds (gone)
Nights- ('12)23 ('13)23 ('14)15 ('15)31 ('16)25
2014 Harley Davidson FLHX (XLR cargo)
2014 VW Jetta TDI (diesel sipper, camping support vehicle)
2011 Ram 2500 CC 4X4 CTD, B&W Companion (toy hauler hauler)
Taranwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 09:13 PM   #4