Old 12-29-2012, 03:02 PM   #1

More tail/marker light issues

I started a new thread here as the previous ones on this subject are several pages back. I am 1200 miles away from home in my 2012 Solera Motorhome. The tail/marker lights are inoperative. I studied the previous posts on the subject, got out my tools and located the double secret hidden circuit board in the sewer/electric compartment.

There is 12 volts going into the tail/marker input, but nothing coming out. All the fuses check good with a continuity tester. I could not find a dealer in NC that would research the part availability and price for me. RV Outlet Mall 1200 miles away in Georgetown TX says they can obtain a new board next week for $198 plus tax plus $20 for shipping. I think that is ridiculous. This item seems quite failure prone. When I get back to TX, I hope to install something more reliable.

As a temporary work-around, I purchased a 7 pin RV plug and connected the aux power pin to the tail/marker pin with a 10 amp inline fuse. When I plug this in to the trailer connector on the RV, the tail/marker lights illuminate. I will use this temporarily until I get back to TX.

Has anybody out there come up with a more reliable replacement board? All this thing has on it is a few relays, fuses, and connectors. I suspect the tail/marker relay is not designed for continuous duty. That probably works OK on a Ford or Chevy chassis where the tail/marker lights are not powered with the daytime running lights. In the case of the Sprinter chassis, the tail/marker lights are powered continuously.

When I find a more permanent solution to the problem, I will post it. Meanwhile I am really disappointed in Forest River's response to this issue. It is a pervasive problem that has not been addressed.

Old 12-30-2012, 06:27 PM   #2