Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-08-2013, 10:04 AM   #1

Questions concerning Insurance/Extended Warranty/RoadSide Assistance

Wow-What a "Bucket of Worms" going through the Subject. Appreciate your experience in buying since I am a RV newbie and do not know if I need the last two. I pick-up a used 2013 Solera 24S with 1987 miles on the 15th of April and would appreciate your thoughts. Thanks.
CaptDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 01:24 PM   #2

I purchased the extended coverage and the roadside was included when we bought new. There are extensive threads on here discussing both. It really is whatever you are comfortable with. If you want to gamble ... do so, if you want to know you are covered if you need it, then get it. Kinda the same as any other "insurance" policy ... some want them ... some don't. I know the above is not much help ... but congrats on your unit!
DebbieMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 01:41 PM   #3
Always Learning

The RoadSide assistance is good, imo. I've had it forever on my cars with AAA and now am moving to Good Sams because they cover all of my vehicles and are RV-specialized.
Old 04-08-2013, 01:44 PM   #4
Always Learning

Insurance is good, too, of course. Right now, mine is a rider on my auto insurance, but I'd like to get a dedicated RV plan for it. Just so that I have better coverage if/when it's sitting in a campground and something happens.
Old 04-08-2013, 01:45 PM   #5
Always Learning

And... extended warranties. There are those that love them. There are those that hate them. You gotta decide on that one.

Though, being used - you likely don't have the factory warranty anymore and it may be your only option. I don't think they transfer. Just guessing, though - but I know when I called Dometic this weekend, they asked me if I was the original owner or not.
Old 04-08-2013, 03:00 PM   #6