Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-19-2017, 10:22 AM   #1

Solera Solar System Installation

I studied the feasibility of a solar system for my RV and discovered that due to the size of the RV and therefore the roof area, there was simply not enough free space up there for panels of any size, at least not where the panels would see the sun unobstructed from shadows. So, I opted for portable panels that I’d place on the ground wherever they were needed based upon where I parked the RV. As you see in the attached photos, I can place them almost anywhere and at almost any angle. I’ve had them nearly vertical and also flat on the ground depending on the height of the sun. If you look carefully at the above photo you can see the power cord running along the ground from the panels to the plug just rear of the entrance door.
This 8 AWG four wire cable was sized to eliminate voltage drop along its 23 foot length. I wired it to a 30 amp connector which then had its mate next to the step. This allowed easily connecting the solar panels to the charge controller. On the solar panel end, I cut in half the wires 3 foot connecting cables purchased with the solar panels. I then wired those ends to the other end of the 8 AWG cable. Now I can easily plug the solar panels to the cable and also to the charge controller, which is mounted under the drawer under the sink.

You can see the black wires coming up into the space through the gray insulating material. I managed to carve out an opening large enough to pass the two wires through - one to the cable connection from the solar panels, the other connecting the charge controller output to the batteries. Once in place, I sealed around the cables with new foam to return the space to tight integrity against varmints and weather.