Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-20-2015, 11:30 PM   #1

Solera Wind Sensitivity.

I am new to RVing and a new Solera owner. I'm on my second trip and, so far, I love my Solera. However, I have one big concern. It seems very sensitive to wind. By the time I reach my destination, my hands, wrists and arms are sore and my psyche spent! Too much white knuckling, I suspect. I'm sure much of this is due to my inexperience driving a MH, but it sure seems to get whipped around in the wind. I bought the Solera thinking it would be easier to drive. Is this to be expected and is there anything I can do to help alleviate the issue? Am I the only one feeling this? I would much appreciate your thoughts. Thanks, all!
Ol lady and the C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2015, 06:02 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ol lady and the C View Post
I am new to RVing and a new Solera owner. I'm on my second trip and, so far, I love my Solera. However, I have one big concern. It seems very sensitive to wind. By the time I reach my destination, my hands, wrists and arms are sore and my psyche spent! Too much white knuckling, I suspect. I'm sure much of this is due to my inexperience driving a MH, but it sure seems to get whipped around in the wind. I bought the Solera thinking it would be easier to drive. Is this to be expected and is there anything I can do to help alleviate the issue? Am I the only one feeling this? I would much appreciate your thoughts. Thanks, all!
Many Solera owners have replaced the factory sway bar with the Hellwig 7254. The heavier bar does improve handling under windy conditions and when big trucks pass you the RV does not want to change lanes. I have driven mine as much as 10 hours on more than one occasion and don't really get tired.
Old 08-21-2015, 06:10 AM   #3

Send a message via AIM to NoviBill