Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-03-2013, 12:18 AM   #1

Water heater...

Hi all, we're about to use our camper for the first time where we can fill up with water. (Full week vacation!) It's a boondocking situation so I want to be sure I have maximum water on board. Question is this. To get the water heater full I just need to run water pump right? I mean that adds 6 gallons into fresh water tank that I would lose if I didnt do that when filling up and waited til I arrived at camp.?? I'm a newbie to camping and not great at computers either! Thanks in advance for input.
Trucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 05:49 AM   #2

Yes you will need to fill your fresh water tank then turn on hot water faucet and let it run till you have good water coming out make sure you have the bypass closed off
jkklops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 05:55 AM   #3

Or if you don't want to run your pump that long you can hook the hose to the city water connection and open the release valve on your hot water heater. Just fill it until water comes out and then close it.
MotocrossCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 09:15 AM   #4

Is there somewhere closer to your campground that you could get water so you don't have to drive so far with the full load?
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 07:00 PM   #5

OK so we just went to fill fresh water tank and it's leaking from a black valve that's turned up 3/4 of the way up tank. Should there be a cap on that? I thought they told me during orientation that it would flow out the tube where I was filling next to city water connection. Any help is appreciated as always!!
Old 06-09-2013, 07:16 PM   #6

Any way you can post a picture of that?

Is the valve connected to the tank 3/4 of the way up, or its connected to the bottom of the tank but plumbed so that it sits 3/4 of the way up?