Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-18-2018, 03:17 PM   #1

Question Battery Maintenance While in Storage

I am new to RV'ing and have recently purchased a 2018 R-Pod 180 with solar. I recently built a garage for it at our place in New Mexico. Considering that I may have to store it in this garage for 3 or 4 months unattended over winter, would it be better for me to plug my R-Pod 180 into a 110 outlet to maintain a constant battery charge or would it be better to disconnect both batteries (I have two - one is for solar)? If I do leave it plugged in, should I put it on a timer so it will only charge a few hours a day? I am not sure if this R-Pod 180 has a trickle charger or whether even if that would still be safe to leave plugged in unattended for 3 months. I have googled this topic and have gotten a lot of varying answers. Some say even trickle charging causes the fluid to dry out and get sulfate deposits. Also, does this R-Pod have a battery disconnect switch somewhere or is removing terminals the only way to disconnect power if I decide to go that route? Any insights would be appreciated.
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 03:28 PM   #2

I'd start by finding out what brand/model of Converter you have. Some quick net searching will tell you if it's just a converter (doubtful) or if it has a multi-stage charging circuit (probable).

If it has a multi-stage charger I'd just leave it plugged in and check the fluid levels monthly.

Not leaving it plugged in can be worse as most batteries will self discharge a given amount even if nothing is connected. Depending on age and condition, this self discharge can leave you with totally dead battery(s) and that's usually the end of their life.