Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-12-2019, 02:01 PM   #1

New, Please Help

Hello and peace be to the forum. I am new to all of this. I am a disabled veteran and after evaluating many different options it seems that a travel trailer is my best solution. I need a place to live/stay on the grounds where I work. Traveling to and from where I work is getting to be too much and so I have been given permission to have a travel trailer on the land where I work (agriculture zoned). So I am going to trade in my current car for a 2016 Chevy Colorado Z71 and then go and get either a 2018 or 18 Rpod. Not exactly sure which model but I am looking at the 179. My initial questions for the forum are these:

1. Comments, questions, concerns, etc. about the 2016 Chevy Colorado Z71 pulling the R-pod? The Colorado Z71 has a 3.6L SIDI DOHC V6 VVT ENGINE and a 6-SPEED A/T. If more information about the Colorado is needed then let me know and I can provide it.

2. What exactly will I need to pull the R-pod home from the dealership and to the property where I will be living? In other words, the Colorado has a trailer hitch but I do not know what size ball I will need? Will I need to purchase some kind of wiring harness or does that come with the R-pod?

3. What else would I need to make this work? What am I overlooking?

There is power and water for the travel trailer at the work site where I will be living. I am going to use a portable septic initially until a permanent one can be put in place.

Please help me. I am sure there are many things I may not be taking into consideration here. I have done some research but I think I trust the information on this particular sub-forum about R-pods than some of the "at large" information I have found on the interwebs.