Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-01-2013, 12:59 PM   #1

Thumbs up Loading question

Here I go again, lol, but because I am a newbie I have a lot of questions. Safety first so better ask twice...
Here some facts, I have the 203 slc, 23 foot long, it's 5200 dry. I have 2 atvs in there, they weigh 410 each. I have a 2008 suburban 1500, so it has a good wheel base. I added a equalizer hitch and sway control.
Looking at the trailer one atv would sit right above the axles, the other one behind. I wanna travel as light as possible, so almost no water. But I heard u need the weight of the water in the front to avoid fish tailing?!?
Any suggestion or experience you had loading the best way? Thanks again, Dennis.
Deryll1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 10:53 PM   #2
Always Learning

Load them up and go get weighed. Try different configurations and see how it effects your scale slips. If you use a CAT scale, the first weighing is $10 and each re-weigh within 24 hours is just $1 or $2.
Old 06-01-2013, 11:17 PM   #3
Happy owner SOB

Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
Load them up and go get weighed. Try different configurations and see how it effects your scale slips. If you use a CAT scale, the first weighing is $10 and each re-weigh within 24 hours is just $1 or $2.
Thats a good answer but unless he checks his tongue weight he hasn't really answered his question about weight distribution and how it may affect handeling such as fishtailing. When loaded you need to find out what you tongue weight is.
sheriff1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 11:50 PM   #4