Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-12-2013, 07:14 PM   #1

100% Noob, shopping a used TT- need advice!

Very glad to discover this forum! Poking around doing some research as a TOTAL newbie to RV's and Forest River...

We are looking at a 2006 Flagstaff 26 FS but to tell the whole truth, I have no idea about quality, issues or what to look for. I have researched countless check-lists to try to identify what to watch out for, but posting here to get some community insight. Tow vehicle will be a 2010 Silverado 1500 4x4, realizing I will need to add a brake controller (the trailer includes a weight-distributing hitch).

We are looking for a dual-purpose RV... I say dual purpose because we intend to use it for weekend get-aways for the family, consisting of me, the wife and two daughters 12 and 17 (the 17 yr-old heading off to school soon). The "dual" is due to my being Military and considering using the trailer as my "home" since I will likely be a geographical-bachelor for part of my next tour (family not moving with me).

My biggest fear is what I dont know, and that's a lot. I have never owned an RV so I am not even knowledgable on how to set one up and since this is a used trailer, dealer delivery and "training" is not an option. We are currently in Connecticut near the shore-line and would love to learn from anyone in the New England area!

Any advice available for the Flagstaff 26FS (prices, issues, pros, cons etc) would be great and suggestions for additional research resources would be even better!!

Respectfully,

Allen
Allen_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 07:43 PM   #2
Site Team - Lou

Allen,