Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-16-2012, 02:54 AM   #1

2009 Mini Lite 1809s price

I am new to travel trailers and need some guidance. I am seriously thinking of buying a 2009 Mini Lite 1809s but am not sure if asking price of $11,000 is reasonable or not. Trailer appears to be in near new condition and has all available options. I think it sold for around $18K new but am not sure on that. I'm strongly leaning toward getting the trailer but dont want to pay to much. What do you think about the price? Is $11K ballpark for a 2009 in good/excellent shape.
llbaker2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 06:02 AM   #2

Your credit union or bank will be able to look up the value for you. Just give them a call or stop by their office.

In the area I live and in the areas I camp, there are people who have mobile rv repair services that do onsite repairs. I highly recommend having such a person inspect the trailer before purchase. Yes, it may cost you $80 to $100, but it will be money well spent to avoid problems. The guy that I use does this all the time for prospective buyers. If you are in the McComb, MS area or nearby in Louisiana, call Ken at Dixie Springs RV Services at (601) 276-9428.

IIBaker2, although the roof has a 12 year warranty, prorated beginning with year 3, you are required to keep maintenance records and receipts for caulking/sealant supplies – ask for these records.

Ask where the unit was stored (outdoors in the open or under cover). Crawl under the unit and inspect the frame for damage (warping, cracks).

Check the tires’ DOT number for the date code (example: DOT 1KMM16A 2211), whereas the “2211” means the tires were manufactured the 22 week of 2011. Trailer tires have a 5 year lifespan. If you purchase the trailer, be sure to check the tires for proper inflation before you tow it.