Old 04-22-2015, 11:05 AM   #1

About to make a 19 hour haul...

from Louisiana to Key West and I hate looking for a good fuel station or restroom stop. I have a gravity feed diesel tank in the bed of my TV so I can run with 80 gallons of fuel. This gets me from my house to the Florida turnpike easily without needing fuel. Once on the turnpike, the fuel stations are every 40 miles and easy in easy out for hauling. As far as restroom between home and the turnpike I was thinking about filling my fresh water tank and just pulling over on entrance ramp shoulder, weigh stations, or anyplace easy without having to get into a small stores parking lot. I have never done this before, I read where my water pump sill cut on and off as needed when the switch is on. Instructions say open all faucets and turn pump on, then start turning them off one at a time when water is coming out. When last one is closed pump should cut off. My question is, should I leave the pump on for the whole trip? Or should I do this "open all faucets" routine every time we pull over and need to flush? May just be easier to bring a 5 gallon jug of water. Any insight would be appreciated.
Travis

Hobie Kayaks
2008 F-250 Spartan Tuner
2012 Flagstaff
jtjohnston1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 11:09 AM   #2

Turn water pump on as you enter the RV. Do your thing then turn off water pump as you leave. It is no big deal if you forget and leave the pump on as long as all faucets are off.

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums

2015 Wildcat 295RSX
2012 Ford F-250, 4x4, 6.7 Liter Diesel
5er_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 11:14 AM   #3

once the system is primed (turning on and opening the faucets) you do not need to do that again unless you drain the system. I have a 2 gal pressure tank so I can use the bathroom on the road a few times without having to turn the pump on.

Vibe 6501
1 Prospector Canoe
2 Mtn. Bikes
4 Hiking Boots
Happy Vibe is offline   Reply With Quote