Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2009, 03:27 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 9
Another TV question

We just recently purchased an LG 19" flat screen. We were told that the newer tvs have the digital converters in them. I use a coax cable into the antenna and raise it with the crank. We were a couple of hours away from a city. We didn't get any local Channels from Indianapolis or Louisville. The only channels we got were like PBS or things similar. Any suggestions? Do I need a digital converter? We are going out in our Roo for the second time. I would like to be prepared.
Thanks.

http://www.ohiovalleycampers.com
__________________

__________________
Ohio Valley Camper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 08:59 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohio Valley Camper View Post
We just recently purchased an LG 19" flat screen. We were told that the newer tvs have the digital converters in them. I use a coax cable into the antenna and raise it with the crank. We were a couple of hours away from a city. We didn't get any local Channels from Indianapolis or Louisville. The only channels we got were like PBS or things similar. Any suggestions? Do I need a digital converter? We are going out in our Roo for the second time. I would like to be prepared.
Thanks.

http://www.ohiovalleycampers.com
1st of all, you need to check to see if your TV is digital or not......that should be listed under the stats. If you recently bought the TV, then I would think it should be. If is not digital, then you will need a converter box.

When using the antennae, make sure the booster button is pushed....there should be a little green light on the cable plate that will lite up when the booster is on.

Also, you will need to do a channel search on the TV everytime you move to another campground to pick up what is available in that area.
__________________

__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 07:03 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
cardinal4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 314
Adding to the above post... I have found the digital signal is very directional, by that I mean just moving the antenna a little bit will effect the signal strength. Of course every time you move the antenna you will have to re-search for channels. All so I have found out that the cable connections must be more than finger tight. Make sure you go and tighten them everywhere you can, remove the connection outlet and tighten. This made a big difference in my signal strength.
__________________
3500 Ram 5.9l diesel
08 35 RLT Cardinal
5th Airborne Pin Box
cardinal4fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 07:43 AM   #4
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,716
If you were indeed 2 hour drive from any major city you probably
were out of range.
Where were you camped when you could only get PBS??

All TVs sold in the last year must be digital ready by law.
(Unless you bought it from a 2nd hand shop or something.....)

Be sure you choose Air/antenna option in the TV menu when you
are auto searching for channels.

As mentioned the little tiny button on the side of your antenna
wall plate MUST BE PUSHED IN AND THE LITTLE LED MUST
BE LIT.
If the wall plate power switch is not in, you will NOT get reception.

We have camped in the boonies and only been able to receive
PBS and ION and a couple others but no major networks.
Sometimes that's the price you pay to "get away from it all".
Most of the time we can get at least 1 or 2 network stations.
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 11:11 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyDan View Post
If you were indeed 2 hour drive from any major city you probably
were out of range.
Where were you camped when you could only get PBS??

All TVs sold in the last year must be digital ready by law.
(Unless you bought it from a 2nd hand shop or something.....)

Be sure you choose Air/antenna option in the TV menu when you
are auto searching for channels.

As mentioned the little tiny button on the side of your antenna
wall plate MUST BE PUSHED IN AND THE LITTLE LED MUST
BE LIT.
If the wall plate power switch is not in, you will NOT get reception.

We have camped in the boonies and only been able to receive
PBS and ION and a couple others but no major networks.
Sometimes that's the price you pay to "get away from it all".
Most of the time we can get at least 1 or 2 network stations.

That's hilarious. You described our experience to a "T". All we got was PBS, JCTV, TCC, and ION. We were at Spring Mill State Park in Indiana, between Louisville and Indy.
Ohio Valley Camper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 11:40 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardinal4fun View Post
Adding to the above post... I have found the digital signal is very directional, by that I mean just moving the antenna a little bit will effect the signal strength. Of course every time you move the antenna you will have to re-search for channels. All so I have found out that the cable connections must be more than finger tight. Make sure you go and tighten them everywhere you can, remove the connection outlet and tighten. This made a big difference in my signal strength.
OK, cardinal4fun added to my post, so I am going to add to his.

I agree with antennae direction being important. So here is what I do:

I raise the antennae, hookup the TV, and do the on-screen channel search (in atennae mode). I will then turn the antennae 120 degrees 1 way, and do an “add to existing channels” search with the TV. I will then do the same thing with a 120 degree search from the antennae travel position the other direction. The antennae will not go all of the way around, so I use the travel position (where the arrows line up) to do it each way…..if that makes sense. This method seems to work pretty good for us.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 12:09 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St. Clair Shores, MI
Posts: 82
We've experienced digital signal problems even only a couple miles outside of town. We occasionally camp out at some family property thats very close to town and can usually get 3 channels. But there have been trips made there where we won't get any in at all. One trip earlier this year we received no channels the day of arrival, rescanned the second day and found 4 channels, and then lost them all on the third day!

We don't mind so much though because we're not big TV watchers while camping. The few times that we are usually involve a good movie on DVD (which requires no signal of any kind ).
__________________
E.S.P.

'07 Rockwood 8281SS 5th Wheel
'07 Silverado 2500HD LMM Duramax Diesel / Allison 1000 CC 2LT S/B
Reese 15K 5th Wheel Hitch w/ Kwik-Slide
E.S.P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 12:23 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
This little puppy has seemed to help the digital pixel freeze that sometimes occurs, but I can't prove that it will pull in more channels:

http://www.campingworld.com/shopping...-wingman/44021
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 12:42 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St. Clair Shores, MI
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnguy View Post
This little puppy has seemed to help the digital pixel freeze that sometimes occurs, but I can't prove that it will pull in more channels:

http://www.campingworld.com/shopping...-wingman/44021
I was considering buying this product myself, but...

Do you know if could be mounted on the same side as the swing arm that raises and lowers the attenna, opposite side of how its mounted on the side of the attenna as shown in the CW picture?

For my situation, I have a roof vent that is within 1/2" from the side of the attenna shown in the ad and would not have sufficient clearance for installation here.
__________________
E.S.P.

'07 Rockwood 8281SS 5th Wheel
'07 Silverado 2500HD LMM Duramax Diesel / Allison 1000 CC 2LT S/B
Reese 15K 5th Wheel Hitch w/ Kwik-Slide
E.S.P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 01:09 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
The Wingman won't work on the antennae post side. It needs about 8" of clearance on the non-post side, so I don't believe that it will work in you situation.
__________________

__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.