Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-20-2018, 11:08 AM   #1

Are there codes for RV construction?

Given the number of problems which seem to arise with rv construction methods, are there standards or codes which are to be met? As a total newby to the TT world, I cannot imagine that there aren't some standards which could be cited to a dealer or manufacturer when these problems are found. Seems like everything has some form of standard or code to follow. Using a household indoor electrical box for the wiring on the front of my TT seems like a violation of some electrical code. (Exposing wiring to outdoor conditions??) Narrowly meeting simple construction codes with regards to load bearing etc.? Does anyone have any insight in this?

2018 Heritage Glen 24bhhl
2015 Ram 2500 6.4liter, SB, 3154 lbs payload
Me, DW, and 55lbs of Sofie the Goldendoodle.
cbetmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 11:14 AM   #2
Always Learning

RVIA publishes guidelines that are looked on a bit as codes. But, as far as I'm aware, they don't have anything to do with actual enforcement. And they're run by RV manufacturers... so, to me it is a little like the inmates running the asylum.
Old 07-20-2018, 11:23 AM   #3

I'm sure RVIA has some codes/standards. But how high, or low, are those codes/standards. Example: It might say 'electrical junction box' but not specify what kind.
Wiscampsin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 11:28 AM   #4

Don't think so, at least not like a regular house construction.
Don' have to be an electrician to run/hook wireing up. Don't have to be a plumber to run/hook lines up.
Just your regular $8.25 dollar an hour employee.
You would think that by pure repitition they would get it right, eventually. But they can't seem to get it right from rig to rig.
Grumpy

2012 Forrest River Lexington 283ts
Toad, 2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek