Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-12-2007, 06:52 PM   #1

Astronomy

Anybody else into astronomy? I’m an amateur newbie. Really a newbie. I can barely point out Vega, Polaris, or Pleiades but I’m getting a little better. Last year, or was it the year before while camping in West Texas in the Davis Mountains we made our visit to The McDonald Observatory. While there we purchased a small Orion StarBlast reflector telescope to piddle with. It’s fine for viewing planets and such, Jupiter and her moons, Venus, and this morning for my first time Saturn with a very good definition of her rings. I woke the whole family up at 05:30 to see it. Big smiles all around.

I’ve been toying with the idea of purchasing a new bigger telescope and after months of research and shopping around…… I just made a deal at a local, well almost local, it’s a 50 mile drive to the shop, for a 10” Orion XTi Dob with a computerized object locater. We pick it up in the morning. I could have purchased the same thing online and saved about $150 but these folks are real humans to deal with and are assembling the scope for me. I’m not much on instruction manuals so this is probably a good thing.

I was initially set on getting a 12” Dob but after seeing just how flippin big it is I went for the 10”. This one I can get into our trailer much easier and lay the tube on the bed during travel so we can take it camping with us.

Anyhow……….. Just throwing another topic of discussion out there should someone else be interested and/or more experienced (which wouldn’t be very hard).

Hoping tomorrow night is clear!

Y’all have a good’n!

greg
aintgotnun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 08:14 PM   #2

Greg,

I'm into astronomy. I can see the Moon from my house!!
milzat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 08:21 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by milzat View Post
Greg,