Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-11-2018, 10:33 AM   #1

Busting Myths

Every spring I see a lot of people asking many questions about fuel ratings, nitrogen air filled tires, vortex generators, etc...

I wanted to start this thread to educate people (It's what I do for a living) and provide solid, reliable, and applicable scientific evidence to help people navigate some of the sales pitches we get. If you have more information to add, please feel free, but be prepared to back up ANY claims with reputable sources.

Here we go:

#1 - "I want to 'treat' my car/truck/RV to some special fuel and buy premium gas"

This is a VERY common myth. Premium fuel has higher octane and costs more money. This in turn causes people to think it's 'better.' In the U.S. Octane ranges from 85 octane - 97 octane with a few degrees in between. The PRIMARY function of octane is to prevent pre-ignition. That means that a higher octane fuel will ignite at a higher temperature and compression. What does this mean for you? Your Toyota Corrolla does not need high octane fuel. It has a regular engine that does just fine with lower octane. A high performance vehicle however, has a higher compression ratio and requires higher octane to prevent the fuel igniting before the spark plug ignites. If you put low octane fuel in this kind of vehicle, you'll burn holes in the tops of pistons.... this is bad. If you hear pinging while going over a pass while pulling a TT or in an RV, fill up with higher octane and it SHOULD get better.

Another thing to note. There is no such thing as 'mid-grade' fuel. When you see the typical three grades of fuel at the pump, the middle one is just a mixture of premium and regular gasoline. HOWEVER, it's mixed at a 3:1 ratio of regularremium. Which means that it's the WORST value for money at the pump. You're better off either buying regular or premium.