Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2013, 12:40 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
another_newfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 684
We use the onboard fireplace and an oil filled heater in the 'shoulder seasons' which will keep the main living area quite warm without issue. Luckily we have a 50A rig and when 50A is available we'll have no issues with tripping breakers. When on 30A (more common around these parts), we just have to remember to turn off one heat source before using another high draw appliance.

Winter camping will be a bit of a different ballgame because we actually want to use the furnace from time to time to help provide heat to the tanks to ensure they don't freeze.

We have several micro-furnaces but I personally don't like to use them all that much as I find they dry the air out. The oil filled provides a much nicer heat source.
__________________

__________________
2015 F-350 SRW 6.7 PSD
2014 Crusader 295RST

1 Fantastic DW
1 Amazing DD
1 Beagle that will be missed (RIP Zeus)
another_newfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 12:52 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: VA
Posts: 291
In my old Monaco it was a 50A coach and most of the time I used it in cold weather I had 50A at the pedestal. Even if I was on 30A, I always ran one in the bedroom area, it has a digital thermastat but due to where the furnace thermostat was it was up to a 10 degree difference on a windy day.

When the temps got even cooler and I am trying to concerve propane I would run a second one pointed at the front door/windshield. At that point the furnace only ran once or twice per hour depending on temp/winds.

I have yet to see how my new sanibel does as its just getting cooler. But with 50amp, the fireplace and a heater in the bedroom, I think it will hold out well and only use propane to augment the heating.
__________________

__________________
jbrostek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 01:08 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Chrisbrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Atlanta / Kennesaw
Posts: 164
Send a message via Skype™ to Chrisbrock
Again, why not just use the Heat Pump?

Mine puts off fantastic heat.
__________________
Christopher Brock
2014 Sunseeker 3170ds
2012 Honda Odyssey
2003 Hummer H2
2003 IS300
Chrisbrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 02:24 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: VA
Posts: 291
Chris - Not all units have heat pumps. My Sanibel does not have heat strips in the AC units, but does have a 40k BTU furnace and a 1500watt heater as part of the fire place. Since I have not done cold weather camping yet, I am not sure if the bedroom area will need the secondary heat or not.
__________________
jbrostek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 04:50 PM   #25
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
One of my previous units was a park model that had little electric baseboard heaters. Since I have 50 amps to burn (pun) I'm thinking of mounting several of these along walls and wiring to a new breaker in the dist box. should be a nice little project, maybe.

The 110 volt baseboard heater are pretty cheap at Home Depot AND even have thremostats. Running the wiring may be a bit of a project tho.
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 04:51 PM   #26
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
I first contacted the mfg and was told not to do it as it would void the warranty. As usual, I decided that no more than we experienced cold temps that much in FL, that I would risk it anyway. Unhooked gas line and electrical connections and pulled the entire furnace. Located the hot wire to the blower (I think it was red) and just jumped another red wire from the main supply panel to the switch and then to the blower. Doesn't alter the functioning of the furnace with the thermostat and just turns the blower on independently. Mounted the switch in the panel under the rear counter. Biggest problem was disconnecting and reconnecting the gas line as there is practically no room where it is located in our camper. Have only used it one night, but it worked flawlessly and kept the air circulating in the floor ducts as expected.
Thanks OC, I'll crawl around a bit and check it out...
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 04:56 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Chrisbrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Atlanta / Kennesaw
Posts: 164
Send a message via Skype™ to Chrisbrock
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrostek View Post
Chris - Not all units have heat pumps. My Sanibel does not have heat strips in the AC units, but does have a 40k BTU furnace and a 1500watt heater as part of the fire place. Since I have not done cold weather camping yet, I am not sure if the bedroom area will need the secondary heat or not.
Ok thanks for the information. Why would they not include a head pump option in every unit?
__________________
Christopher Brock
2014 Sunseeker 3170ds
2012 Honda Odyssey
2003 Hummer H2
2003 IS300
Chrisbrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 05:00 PM   #28
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisbrock View Post
Ok thanks for the information. Why would they not include a head pump option in every unit?
$$$$$$$
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 05:40 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisbrock View Post
Again, why not just use the Heat Pump?

Mine puts off fantastic heat.
Heat pumps work well when it is above 40 degrees outside. After that, electric heat only comes from a resistance heating element in the system or some other source. They are great in the South, where winters are mild but up North, they will not get you through the night.
__________________
Tom

2012 Rockwood A122S
2008 Toyota Tundra Double Cab 4X4

Former owner of a 2002 Coleman Niagara GTE
Pooneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 05:56 PM   #30
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisbrock View Post
Ok thanks for the information. Why would they not include a head pump option in every unit?
No clue but neither of my current A/Cs have them and neither did my pop-up's aftermarket A/C.
__________________

__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.