Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2015, 08:35 PM   #11
fx2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05CrewDually View Post
That's what my experience has been. I've been at campgrounds that just running my A/C would cause the breaker to blow in the coach. I used the 50amp to 30 adapter and didn't have a problem the rest of the week.
Most service boxes will have both. Don't ask for 50 or you'll usually be charged more per night. I tell them I'm 30 and if the box has 50, I use it.

X2!
__________________

__________________
2014 Surveyor SC321BHTS
2016 Nissan Titan XD SL4x4 Cummins
fx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 08:13 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
GAHipychk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 6
MainelyUS. are those separate units. A surge protector and a 30a adapter? Thank you
__________________

__________________
GAHipychk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 08:23 AM   #13
2007 WildCat 32QBBS
 
05CrewDually's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,769
That's what it appears.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GAHipychk View Post
MainelyUS. are those separate units. A surge protector and a 30a adapter? Thank you
http://img02.aaastatic.net/image_cac...57_300x300.jpg

http://www.pplmotorhomes.com/parts/c...FdAXHwodpU8NjQ
__________________
*Current: 2005 Ford F350 Crew Cab Dually 6.0 diesel 4x4*
*Retired: 1987 F350 Crew Cab Dually 6.9 turbo diesel
2007 Forest River WildCat 32QBBS
05CrewDually is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 09:16 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
ov845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 315
Please bare in mind, 30 amp service has a 30 amp breaker and 50 amp service has two 25 amp breakers for service. Using 50 amp for 30 amp service you'll be using only one pole of the 50 amp which will be only 25 amps. If your rig sits in the sun and the A/C is running watch your draw.

Oscar


Happy Camping!

2012 Ram 1500 5.7L 3.92
2015 2809W WindJammer
Husky Centerline WDH
__________________
ov845 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 11:54 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 505
A 50 amp connection can be used several ways at the same time (up to the 50 amp limit)

Two 115 volt 50 amp circuits

One 230 volt 50 amp circuit. Usually for washer dryer

With an adapter you can connect a 30 amp cord to one of the 50 amp 115 volt circuits
__________________
Harkerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 03:12 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
ov845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harkerr View Post
A 50 amp connection can be used several ways at the same time (up to the 50 amp limit)



Two 115 volt 50 amp circuits



One 230 volt 50 amp circuit. Usually for washer dryer



With an adapter you can connect a 30 amp cord to one of the 50 amp 115 volt circuits

If you have two 115 volt 50 amp circuits that would mean you have a 100 amp breaker controlling it.


Happy Camping!

2012 Ram 1500 5.7L 3.92
2015 2809W WindJammer
Husky Centerline WDH
__________________
ov845 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2015, 12:49 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: LaGrange GA
Posts: 20
dogbone don't always work

I've used the 50/30 adapter before and experienced multiple "main breaker" trips in the TT. Could this be maybe a low voltage leg causing my "main to trip"? I was contemplating using a 50/30/30 "Y" and putting my AC on one of the 30A plugs and the rest of the TT on the other 30A plug, but after experiencing this I am doubting it.
__________________
Matheny9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2015, 01:42 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
DaveSchwartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Waterloo Region
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by ov845 View Post
If you have two 115 volt 50 amp circuits that would mean you have a 100 amp breaker controlling it.


Happy Camping!

2012 Ram 1500 5.7L 3.92
2015 2809W WindJammer
Husky Centerline WDH
No, you have a 50 amp breaker on each of two phases. 100 amps total available but a maximum of 50 amps on each phase. A so-called '50 amp' load center is a split panel like your house... 30 amp RV load centers have only one buss and a single phase 30 amp main breaker.
__________________
2015 Rockwood Signature UltraLite 8282WS Platinum, GY Marathon LRD, TST 507RV TPMS
2005 GMC 2500HD CCSB D/A, Curt E16, Prodigy P2, Garmin RV760LMT w/BC-20 b/u cam

Self restraint is for the young. I'm old and want it NOW!
DaveSchwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2015, 02:04 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
ov845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveSchwartz View Post
No, you have a 50 amp breaker on each of two phases. 100 amps total available but a maximum of 50 amps on each phase. A so-called '50 amp' load center is a split panel like your house... 30 amp RV load centers have only one buss and a single phase 30 amp main breaker.

That's what I'm saying. A total of 100 amps.


Happy Camping!

2012 Ram 1500 5.7L 3.92
2015 2809W WindJammer
Husky Centerline WDH
__________________
ov845 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2015, 03:07 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 505
The trailer main breaker may be rated at 30 amps. If it is tripping your downstream load is exceeding the rating. It is not hard to exceed 30 amps. Take a look at your loads.
__________________

__________________
Harkerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.