Old 09-09-2013, 08:50 AM   #1
cogito ergo moo
Did my good deed for the week.

Ya know, sometimes doing a good deed can bring you more joy than the person you are doing the good deed for gets...

This weekend, we were staying in the campground at Hermann City Park in Hermann, MO. Next to us was a nice older (70's ish) couple in a newer huge Class A with like 97 slides on it. As is my custom, I always say hi to my neighbors if I see them out. The gentleman appears rather frazzled and in conversation states that he is having electrical problems. His microwave, TV, rear A/C and a kitchen outlet are all dead. I smile and tell him it's his lucky day, as I am an electrical engineer who never goes anywhere without his tools. I ask him if I could take a look, and he quickly says yes.

First off, I check his on-board breakers. All are good, but I notice right away that everything that is dead is on every other breaker. A sure sign that he lost a leg on his incoming. I grab my meter and go out and check the pole. The socket on the pole is good, with 230VAC hot-to-hot, 120VAC from each leg to neutral. I unplug his coach and ask him to fire up his generator. Sure enough, everything works. We shut down the gen-set and I pull the cover off his transfer switch. nothing looks amiss, so I plug him back into shore power and check voltages at terminal on the transfer switch, and one of the hot legs is dead as hell.