Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-20-2015, 03:16 PM   #1

Dimming LED lights

My biggest complaint with my new camper (Cherokee 274 dbh) is the god-awful LED 'accent' light strips. I don't know why they're called 'accent lighting' I'm convinced that the International Space Station could use my camper as a fixed navigation point.

Anyway - I took a suggestion from someone here and purchased an in-line RF dimmer for both the awning lights and inside LED light strips like this one

Admittedly I'm not an electrician and became rather confused when I pulled the switch off - I was expecting a black wire, a white wire, and a green wire ... that's not what I found.

I could GUESS which wire was which, but thought I'd ask the experts here first and ask for a recommendation as to WHERE in this configuration to wire in the dimmers.

Do I need both, or is there a point in this wiring system that I could just use 1 to handle both sets of lights? (note: I'd prefer to be able to dim them separately)

Any insight or guidance would be phenomenally appreciated.

cdangel0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 01:36 PM   #2

Any ideas on which is the positive and which is the negative wire?

Old 04-23-2015, 01:50 PM   #3

If I had to make an educated guess the white wires at the top of the switch are the incoming 12V and the yellow and brown are going to the lights. One thing you may run into is the two dimmers work off the same frequency so when you try to adjust one they may both change.

Current: 2019 Sunseeker 2290S
Previous (2012-2016): 2012 Vibe 6501
1 Prospector Canoe, 2 Mtn. Bikes & 4 Hiking Boots
Happy Vibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 01:52 PM   #4
Site Team

I am curious as to what exactly those two switches do. Any way you can post a pic of the front side?