View Poll Results: Do You Think Hitch Work Should Be A Certified And License Occupation In the RV Indust
Yes 8 33.33%
No 16 66.67%
Voters: 24. You may not vote on this poll

Old 11-18-2009, 04:50 AM   #1

Do you Think Hitch Work Should Be a Certified And License Occupation In The RV Indus

Do You Think Hitch Work Should Be A Certified And License Occupation In The RV Industry?

Old 11-18-2009, 10:57 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Certified Hitch Work

I'm an ASE certified MASTER Technician. Does that make me better? No, I'm human, occasionally mistakes happen, and NO certification is going to change that. In North Carolina anyway, if I work on your brakes, as an example. as a shop or individual, then I'm responsible, certification or not. Same holds true with a hitch install. More certifications doesn't fix the human equation. Some people are always going to be sloppy and half-***** no matter what.

If you want more certification, how about a special license, and you have to take your rig for a driving test? Separate certification for 5th wheel, motor home, trailer under 30 feet, over 30 feet, Gross Combined Weight, pulling a Toad .... and the list goes on. I see more problems with operators than I do with hitch work. Home work... Look up accidents involving towing and see if any were attributed to improperly installed hitch? Also check and see how many were attributed to operator error. Please report back any that you find, and where it's documented anybody???

2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 12:58 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by windrider View Post