Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

View Poll Results: Do you normally travel with the propane cylinders-
Open 160 78.43%
Closed 44 21.57%
Voters: 204. You may not vote on this poll

Old 03-18-2017, 06:07 PM   #1

Driving with lp tanks open to run fridge, right or wrong?

Newbie here, bought our first TT, Flagstaff Mirco Mini 21DS. Fridge manufacturer recommends turning off all gas appliances before fueling. 21DS with slide in makes it difficult to reach fridge, would probably have to move slide in an out to access fridge. I'd hate to drive to our destination with fridge off an have contents spoil. Planning on driving 6-8 hours at the most in a day. What's the common practice?

thanks
vega1247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 06:17 PM   #2

I leave mine on. I don't worry about it while fueling. Right? Wrong? I have a hard time seeing how a small flame that far away while I'm fueling is going to spark anything off. Obviously I wouldn't pull in on top of a big fuel spill or anything like that.
lugoismad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 06:19 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by vega1247 View Post
Newbie here, bought our first TT, Flagstaff Mirco Mini 21DS. Fridge manufacturer recommends turning off all gas appliances before fueling. 21DS with slide in makes it difficult to reach fridge, would probably have to move slide in an out to access fridge. I'd hate to drive to our destination with fridge off an have contents spoil. Planning on driving 6-8 hours at the most in a day. What's the common practice?

thanks

I leave my tanks open to keep fridge cold while driving. I think most people do.
scbrown063 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 06:19 PM   #4