Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2013, 10:18 AM   #1
Firemaker
 
Firemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Somerset Kentucky
Posts: 8
Electrical issues (or just stupid)

I plugged my Georgetown into a 220 outlet. From reading on here I guess I'm not the first to make this mistake and probably won't be the last. There should be a big red sticker that yells STOP! I mean you can plug it into 220 as there is an adapter that comes with it and who would think that a 50 amp service was just 110? My question is this - I obviously fried the inverter, 1 TV (even though it was turned off) the refrigerator and microwave, but is there a way to bypass the inverter so I can get shore power to the rest of the RV? I can not get it in to the shop until Wednesday.
__________________

__________________
Firemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:07 AM   #2
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firemaker View Post
I plugged my Georgetown into a 220 outlet. From reading on here I guess I'm not the first to make this mistake and probably won't be the last. There should be a big red sticker that yells STOP! I mean you can plug it into 220 as there is an adapter that comes with it and who would think that a 50 amp service was just 110? My question is this - I obviously fried the inverter, 1 TV (even though it was turned off) the refrigerator and microwave, but is there a way to bypass the inverter so I can get shore power to the rest of the RV? I can not get it in to the shop until Wednesday.
Firemaker, it may not be as bad as you think, especially if you have a 50 amp RV. Exactly what did you plug into that was 220/240 volts?

A 50 amp RV outlet is just a standard split-phase 120/240 volt outlet (like welding machines and other stuff uses), which consists of TWO 120 volt hot lines. Your RV just uses each one of these 120 volt lines separate inside your RV and doesn't combine them to get 240 volts. You just have 50 amps per 120 volt hot line.

It's usually only people who plug their 30 amp RV's into a 30 amp 240 volt outlet (instead of 120 volt) OR people who use an adapter to plug their 50 amp RV into the same 30 amp 240 volt outlet..that fry their trailers.

Did you use an adapter to allow you to plug your RV into a 30 amp 220/240 volt outlet (instead of a 110/120 volt outlet)? If so, then you did shoot 240 volts across both hot lines. If you didn't use an adapter, you probably didn't shoot 240 volts across each line in your RV....and may have another problem.

This link may help:

http://www.rvcruzer.com/electrical/chapter3.php
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:25 AM   #3
Firemaker
 
Firemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Somerset Kentucky
Posts: 8
I used the cord that came with the RV and plugged it into a 220/240 30 amp outlet. This is at a house not a campground.
__________________
Firemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:32 AM   #4
Berkshire 390QS
 
NO3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Pueblo Colorado
Posts: 1,251
Just where did you plug it into? Dryer, hot tub outlet? Have you unpluged your unit and tryed to run things off you generator to see what may have blown, did any circuit breakers trip? Have you reset the breaker on the inverter? Just a suggestions
__________________
2011: 54 days, 2012: 218 days, 2013: 175 days, 2014: 196 days
2015: 188 days, 2016: 72 days, 2017: 185
2009 Berkshire, 390QS, and toad
Skip
NO3putt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:32 AM   #5
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firemaker View Post
I used the cord that came with the RV and plugged it into a 220/240 30 amp outlet. This is at a house not a campground.
Is your RV a 30 amp or 50 amp? Does the power cord have 3 prongs or 4 prongs?

When you say cord that came with the RV, do you mean an adapter cord (that goes from a 50 amp 4 prong to 30 amp 3 prong).
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 12:17 PM   #6
Firemaker
 
Firemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Somerset Kentucky
Posts: 8
No3putt, I plugged it into what was a hot tub outlet, and yes the breakers were tripped on the TV, fridge and microwave. They do not work with the generator. Thanks for the suggestions.
__________________
Firemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 12:22 PM   #7
Firemaker
 
Firemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Somerset Kentucky
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
Is your RV a 30 amp or 50 amp? Does the power cord have 3 prongs or 4 prongs? When you say cord that came with the RV, do you mean an adapter cord (that goes from a 50 amp 4 prong to 30 amp 3 prong).
My RV is a 50 amp. Yes I guess I meant adapter. It came with a long cord that has a 50 amp 4 prong and also came with an adapter that takes it to a 30 amp 3 prong and a smaller one that allows you to plug into 110/120
__________________
Firemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 01:06 PM   #8
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firemaker View Post
My RV is a 50 amp. Yes I guess I meant adapter. It came with a long cord that has a 50 amp 4 prong and also came with an adapter that takes it to a 30 amp 3 prong and a smaller one that allows you to plug into 110/120
Ok. Well, that's the bad case scenario.

I placed a PM to another member who had this happen to them, to see if they can help out some. They can explain first hand what all they had to do to fix their travel trailer...which may be the same in your motorhome.

Each RV can be unique with what all is damaged in these mishaps. Sometimes it's just the converter.....but can go all the way up to messing up even air-conditioners. Typically, you lose the converter, microwave, and television.

It's one of those live and learn kind of things, so no need to knock yourself up about it. It happens.

I know it's hindsight now, but this can be a learning lesson for others who may read this later on. Investing in a good $300-400 surge protector can keep things like this from happening.

http://www.amazon.com/Progressive-In...es+surge+guard
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 01:40 PM   #9
Member
 
Lynkage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,149
Yes the adapters are the problem.

Any 4 prong 50 amp plug wired correctly will not damage a 50A RV as there will always be a neutral and ground there.

Hot tubs would normally not require a neutral as they derive their own from an on-board transformer, so you only need 3 prongs, 2 hot's and a ground.

I recommend testing your supply any time you use an adapter.

Sorry for your loss..
__________________
Shane & Antoinette
2012 Ford F-450 SuperDuty
2013 Crusader 355BHQ
Lynkage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 01:52 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynkage View Post
...
I recommend testing your supply any time you use an adapter. Sorry for your loss..
Note that a Progressive Industries EMS unit would have prevented this tragedy.
__________________

__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.