Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2016, 11:22 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 4
Error 1 on Zone 2 AC

Hi, it's late, we're HOT and are receiving an Error 1 on Zone 2 AC. Have read the manual and did what it said and no luck. We have a BRAND new 2016 Sandpiper that's been used ONCE. Very frustrating and hoping that someone here has a useful tip/fix for this problem. Of course we're out of town with no motels close by. Help please!!!!
__________________

__________________
dirwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 12:26 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
northstar1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: in my new 29hfsxlr
Posts: 1,539
i think error 1 is fail to communicate between T-stat and the control board in the ac . check the connection behind the T-stat and check the connections at the control board in the AC just pull the filter panel off . could just be a bad connection , bad T-stat or bad control board . then you may want to power down . do a reset of the t-stat . see if that helps if not at least it kept your mind off the heat for awhile
__________________

__________________
northstar1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 12:31 AM   #3
Blog: RVroadtripper.com
 
hbillsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Near Dallas Texas
Posts: 590
Make sure the furnace and/or A/C is off. Press the “+” button and, while holding it, also press and hold the On/Off Mode button for three seconds. LCD will show “― ― “. Press the On/Off Mode button again to turn system off. This completes the initialization.
Wait 2 minutes and restart. If you have the propane issue below then don't do the restart until after you address the propane fix.

By the way, if you recently took a propane tank offline you may have a pressure lockout that's making the furnace issue the E1. Turn both tanks off, wait a few mins then turn them both on. Light a stove burner to make sure air is out then turn burner off.
__________________
2016 Wildcat 295RSX - 2015 GMC 2500HD DblCab Duramax/Allison 4x4 Z71 6.6' Bed
Maxxis 16" E; Ride Rite AirBags w/AirLift 1 wireless compr; Adv.Folding 4 Cover
Andersen Ultimate II Aluminum 5erhitch on Reese Flipball w/Curt 4" offset ball
LCI Ground Control 3.0 4pt + 2pt Elec.Rear stabilizers; 3 Slidecovers; 10ft. Portabote
6000# Dexters; mor/Ryde CRE3000 w/HD Wetbolts; King Dish Tailgater; 5hp Outboard
Dual A/C; Furrion 48 Rear Camera; Champion 3100 Inverter w/Extended Run
hbillsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 08:54 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 4
Thank you

Thank you NorthStar 1960 - we will try this now. And yes, trying anything at this point kept our mind off the heat.

Thank you Hbillsmith - We did try the + and On/Off and that didn't work. Actually after we completed this step we lost Zone 2 all together.

As of this morning, the inside trailer temp is 64 degrees - FREEZING after having ran the one AC unit all night. However, as the temps go up to 101 today I'm sure it will get warm. We are calling the dealer this morning and I will post the update. I can't believe a BRAND NEW trailer bought in April, used one time in April and has sat in the driveway since then has an issue. All of our camping trips were cancelled due to the flooding. 2nd time out and this - UGH!!!! Anyway, rant over and I will let you know what the dealer says/does to fix the issue. Thank you both for your replies!!!!!
__________________
dirwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 02:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 60
The thermostat does not have communications to the control board on the AC. When you reset the thermostat you lost zone 2 because of the this. I had the same problem on mine, only I had to pull the cover off the AC to reset the connector on the AC unit. Luckly for me that was my problem. Hope your as lucky
__________________
denville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 05:16 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Slidell, La
Posts: 7
Same thing happened to me

My new Sierra did the same thing and turned out my thermostat was bad.

Good luck!

Who Dat
__________________
Who Dat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 06:34 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 1,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by denville View Post
The thermostat does not have communications to the control board on the AC. When you reset the thermostat you lost zone 2 because of the this. I had the same problem on mine, only I had to pull the cover off the AC to reset the connector on the AC unit. Luckly for me that was my problem. Hope your as lucky

I had the same problem several times until I figured out why.

E2 is a loss on communication between t-stat and A/C or between both A/C units. In my case, the front A/C unit would start to cycle on & off and finally stay off with the E2 code then, the rear would do the same and eventually the whole system would shut down (as defined in Dometic literature). The 2 A/C's communicate with each other through the t-stat so if 1 has a communication problem and the 2nd one can't talk to the 1st one, they will both shut down.

After 3 calls to my mobile tech (each time he was able to get it working for about 1 - 6 months) I finally went up on the roof with him to see what he did. We removed the cover on the front A/C unit then removed the 8-10 screws on the curved cover for the air return (front of the unit). In there, are a bunch of communication cabled (telephone type wire) with modular plugs. He unplugged each one and inspected it, cleaned it with a small brush and plugged it back in. One of the cable ends was corroded. After cleaning this (actually he cut off the end and replaced the connector) and reconnecting, BOTH A/C's started.

The 4th time, I went up myself but this time, I cleaned, taped the connections with good electrical tape and ziptied all the wires up and away from the evaporator core (moisture) and drip tray. It's been 10 months since I did that and there have been no further problems.

The reason you lost the front (zone 2) A/C after reinitializing the t-stat is because the t-stat then "looked" for systems connected to it. When it couldn't find the front A/C (no communication) but found the rear A/C (zone 1), it thinks everything is ok, only one zone and will allow the one A/C to run.

If you feel capable and can't see the comm cables from the inside (ducted A/C system) and you're able, go up on the roof and do what I did.

Good luck and keep us informed.
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 07:17 PM   #8
Retired Retail/Importer
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 47
A/C in our Sierra (Sandpiper)

I had the same problem...Here's what FR told me...The water was overflowing through our running ceiling fan...! The problem is they didn't allow a big enough vent return to the A/C and the condensation...it really is a shallow return. I got up on the roof and removed the A/C cover. The thermostat wiring was fried and sitting in water...I bought the tool and cut the wire and restriped the ends and got a new connector... I taped them up away from the water...and drilled out the drain holes. FR sent me two matching vent covers so I cut out two new returns between the originals and reset the thermostat...whew...time consuming but the A/C is working perfectly...I'll get up on the front A/C (bedroom unit) on the roof soon enough just to look it over too.
__________________
pledbetter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 07:20 PM   #9
Retired Retail/Importer
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 47
Sierra (Sandpiper) A/C Problem...solution

DSCN5537.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN5537.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	198.7 KB
ID:	113968  
__________________

__________________
pledbetter is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.