Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-08-2015, 10:59 AM   #1

Florida site availability Dec-March?

Hi folks. Canadian newbie here. I've just picked up a 17' Hybrid TT with plans to head to Florida next winter. I'm hoping to explore and stay at different RV parks every 5-7 days but don't know how full the Florida parks typically are during the winter months. Is this just wishing thinking or do I need to make reservations well in advance to be sure to find places to stay? I'm hoping some of you Snowbirds or Florida folks might be able to share the benefit of your knowledge on the likelihood of RV park availability December through March without reservations. Many thanks, John
jmencel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 11:05 AM   #2

Guess it may depend on what on part of Florida you're wanting to go and how deep your pockets are. We tried to make reservations last month around the Cape Coral area and found all the campgrounds full with the exception of two that wanted over $75 USD a night. Argh!!!
SkipnTerri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 12:04 PM   #3

Camping in St. Augustine in 2 weeks in a 7 and half rated in CG reviews, four and a half miles out of downtown for $42 a night, and another one rated a 6 and $82 a night was booked for the whole month of March, go figure?
poppytoymaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 12:26 PM   #4

Try the FLA State Parks. I know Lake Louisa has some with full hookups. You do need to reserve ahead for them. Also near Datona Beach there is another nice State PArk.
Old 03-08-2015, 01:15 PM   #5

You will find most RV parks full in South Florida. Those that aren't full will be $$$.
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 04:17 PM   #6