Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2015, 12:22 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,632
Garmin 760ltm rv

I was just wondering if I bought another piece of junk? I do not own a smartphone, mine are throw aways. I'm leaving for Nashville Wed. and it routed me to a route I do not want to take. Once I get on 85 in NC.The way I want to take 40 all the way. So If I leave it off til I get to 85 then input my CG off 40 in Asheville NC. will it recalculate the route from where I turn it on? I want to stay on 40? I have never used this GPS before just got it for the trip. Thanks for any help or information. I have streets and maps, but it's a PIA to use transfer anything.
__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 12:29 PM   #2
Georgia Frog Rally 2018
 
aceinspp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: GA
Posts: 10,670
Well I never have liked the Magellan it's junk. I do have the Garmin but it's not the RV type but it sure works well.

Yours should recalculate once on 40. Is yours the one set up for RVs? I'm like you no Hi tech phones. Later RJD
__________________

__________________
2015 35 FT V-Lite 30WRLIKS Diamond Package
2015 Chevy 2500 6.0 4:10 gearing.
Days camped in 2016 58
Days camped so far 2017 62
aceinspp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 12:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Santabobswife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Jackson, GA
Posts: 294
Generally, if you don't go the way the GPS says, it will automatically recalculate. Sometimes you have to drive a distance, but if you are fairly certain where to go the GPS finally gets you going the way you want to go. It's always good to have a paper map to ensure that you at least have a handle of which way to go.
__________________
Santabobswife

Bob, Diane & Snoopy
2015 3050s Sunseeker
Santabobswife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 01:00 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,482
If you know part of the way you want to go, just do it. Then enter in your destination and it should do the rest. I do that with OnStar, drive till I'm almost lost then call for directions.

When your out checking out the scenery after you park your RV just drive till you get lost, then tell the GPS to take you back to the CG. Works for me.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
2015 129 nites
2016 63 nites
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 01:09 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
DK-in-SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Tega Cay, SC
Posts: 522
I purchased the Garmin RV 760LMT last year when we bought our RV. I've used Garmin gps units for years in our cars and always been pleased. The 760LMT has worked well and seems to do a good job of taking more RV friendly routes. There is definitely a difference in the routing when it is in RV mode vs. car mode. The only quirk is that it doesn't take propane regulations into account when routing, so for example, it will route you through the tunnels in Baltimore but my RV isn't permitted since we've got two 20lb propane tanks.
When you enter your destination, it will calculate its preferred route, but there is also a way on that screen to select other possible routes. That may help with what you are trying to do. We live near Charlotte and if we head up to New Jersey, it wants to take us via Rt85 -> Rt95, but I prefer to take an inland route via Rt77 -> Rt 81. If the route I want isn't on the list of possible routes it calculates, I will keep it off for a while until I am well on the way along and then turn it on and let it recalculate. Or I can keep it on and let it continuously recalculate until if finally figures out the route I'm taking.
__________________
I live with fear every day, and sometimes she lets me go fishing.

2015 Shamrock 23IKSS
2008 Ford Expedition EL
DH-DW-D3K-DMTTSAP
DK-in-SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 01:26 PM   #6
Site Team
 
asquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 10,373
I just bought the same GPS a couple weeks ago after having pretty decent success with garmin nuvi. Never 100% rely on a GPS. Print out a set of Google maps or mapquest directions to take with you. GPS generally recalculate when you go another way but initially they will try to recalculate you back to the original route if you are close to it.
__________________
<a href=http://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg target=_blank>http://i62.tinypic.com/28rp645.jpg</a>
2014 Crew Cab Chevy Silverado 3500 4wd Duramax/Allison
2014 Sabre 34REQS-6
asquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 01:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by aceinspp View Post
Well I never have liked the Magellan it's junk. I do have the Garmin but it's not the RV type but it sure works well.

Yours should recalculate once on 40. Is yours the one set up for RVs? I'm like you no Hi tech phones. Later RJD
Yea mine is set up for height and stuff, It has a propane app. I still print out google maps, but just can't understand why I can't drag it to the route I want. This is my 3rd Garmin. I bought a magellan truckers, what a peice of junk, sent it back to Amazon and bought this on sale, during there big day sales. I have the dignotics blue tooth already from my last garmin, and it works with this. Well we will see. My truck is to old to have onstar and all that stuff. I'm a pretty simple person just need to get From A to B...Thanks everyone, I'll let you know how the RV side works, Everyone have a good weekend and hope to see you in Goshen...
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 03:51 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
DK-in-SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Tega Cay, SC
Posts: 522
The Garmin 760LMT has a propane app?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
I live with fear every day, and sometimes she lets me go fishing.

2015 Shamrock 23IKSS
2008 Ford Expedition EL
DH-DW-D3K-DMTTSAP
DK-in-SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 04:19 PM   #9
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
I was just wondering if I bought another piece of junk? I do not own a smartphone, mine are throw aways. I'm leaving for Nashville Wed. and it routed me to a route I do not want to take. Once I get on 85 in NC.The way I want to take 40 all the way. So If I leave it off til I get to 85 then input my CG off 40 in Asheville NC. will it recalculate the route from where I turn it on? I want to stay on 40? I have never used this GPS before just got it for the trip. Thanks for any help or information. I have streets and maps, but it's a PIA to use transfer anything.
I think you can program it to avoid certain areas, but I'm not sure. You can always use it to where you want to deviate and just turn on the road you want and it will eventually route you the way you're going.
__________________
OldCoot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 09:13 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by DK-in-SC View Post
The Garmin 760LMT has a propane app?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
I'm not sure, under Environmental zones: it say's "set the avoidance preference for area's with environmental or restrictions that may apply to your vehicle" Like I said just got it two days ago and still trying to learn it. I'm sure I can load propane restrictions from the POI list from Garmin or a private company like low bridges as an example had that on my old one. Same as bridges, tunnels and rest stops. Atleast I hope I can. will let you know when I get my 8 gig card, to load all this stuff on. It's 75% full without me loading any extra POI. That was a 15.00 extra charge, but Garmin said it would support up to 84 gig sd card. I know very little about it, except the recommendations from FRF members.. Thanks for the question
__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.