Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2010, 05:48 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 310
hi. I have a garmin 255w and a 660 and don't have any of the probs...they work perfectly...Re the 255 for the member in Ceylon. I live in Regina...i don't have that problem. It is in the way you set it up. Both my garmin units have been flawless.I just purchased the lifetime update and updated both of them and he maps are incredibly up to date......sorry you guys are not having success with garmin.
__________________

__________________
polkatronron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 09:10 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
yvesm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pembroke, NH
Posts: 558
Update;

My replacement 465T came in today,turned it on and it worked for a few minutes and it froze up. Reset the unit and it froze up again. Its going back and I will update my paper maps and road atlas. I just love technology.
__________________

__________________
2013 Prime Time 230 FBS
Days camped in 2013: April to November
Days camped in 2014...about 40
Days camped in 2015...more than 2014!!
yvesm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 09:39 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 310
Sorry to hear that. I just came back from a 450 KM road trip and my Garmin Nuvii 660 worked perfectly...Is you 465 model a Garmin Nuvii...I have had real good luck with them...you can pick up a 255W now for about a hundred bucks. Good Luck
__________________
polkatronron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 09:34 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Moose Jaw, Sask. Canada
Posts: 69
Tried to set my 255 up differently, if I remember right I only had 3 options-shortest, fastest and most gas saving, did not have a choice of highway or side roads. I would think it would work good (as the chap from Regina said) as long as you are not out in rural areas looking for directions.
__________________
ayotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 10:51 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
the 465t has a truck mode on it that should route u onto truck routes. i've taken only 4 trips with it and it does. will not work in truck mode on roads that off limits to commercial traffic.

yvesm:
try powering up with the power cord disconnected and see what happens. i have a different problem (audio doesn't work sometimes although not muted). if i power down and disconnect the power cord, the problem disappears. the problem doesn't happen very often but has never happened when i power up on internal bat.
after it is up reconnect the power cord. i believe there is a problem between the traffic radio and the unit. when my traffic radio updated, the problem appeared to disappear...but it came back. i'm hoping they come up with either a firm ware or soft ware fix.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 10:57 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
yvesm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pembroke, NH
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimh View Post
the 465t has a truck mode on it that should route u onto truck routes. i've taken only 4 trips with it and it does. will not work in truck mode on roads that off limits to commercial traffic.

yvesm:
try powering up with the power cord disconnected and see what happens. i have a different problem (audio doesn't work sometimes although not muted). if i power down and disconnect the power cord, the problem disappears. the problem doesn't happen very often but has never happened when i power up on internal bat.
after it is up reconnect the power cord. i believe there is a problem between the traffic radio and the unit. when my traffic radio updated, the problem appeared to disappear...but it came back. i'm hoping they come up with either a firm ware or soft ware fix.
Tried all that, unit comes on and freezes up
__________________

__________________
2013 Prime Time 230 FBS
Days camped in 2013: April to November
Days camped in 2014...about 40
Days camped in 2015...more than 2014!!
yvesm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM.