Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2010, 08:06 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
yvesm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pembroke, NH
Posts: 558
Garmin GPS

About a week ago I finally bought a GPS. I got the Garmin 465T which is designed for truckers, Rv's and cars. It worked for 2 days and then it froze up, I reset the unit and it still froze up after a few seconds. I have returned the unit to Amazon for a replacement. After I get the new unit I will get back to this post and follow up. Must have been a bad day in the Chinese Garmin Factory!
__________________

__________________
2013 Prime Time 230 FBS
Days camped in 2013: April to November
Days camped in 2014...about 40
Days camped in 2015...more than 2014!!
yvesm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 08:17 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Traveler II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lindstrom, MN
Posts: 143
Same thing happen to us last year. We bought it at Best Buy and they replaced it for us. Now the only problem I have is it will lock up when we travel through Chicago. But if I turn it off an back on it works.

My last Garmin lasted 8 years, its why I bought another one.
__________________

__________________
Jim and Jane
2008 Cardinal 30TS
Trail Air Pin Box, Center Point Suspension
Reese 18K hitch - Garmin 1690 GPS
2008 Chevy 2500HD 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Long Box, Smartair
Nights camped in 2011: 120
Traveler II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 08:24 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
j2detroit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Detroit Lakes MN home of We Fest
Posts: 304
i have a tomtom1 that ive had for about 5 years now and it works great hope your garman squares tself away for you be sure and do your online updates every so often
__________________
j2detroit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 10:12 PM   #4
Member
 
whitebb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 42
I have a Tom Tom 330 XL and it works great.
__________________
whitebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 12:09 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
i have the garmin 465t as well. sometimes the audio wouldn't come on when i powered up. when i unpluged the power cable, powered up, then pluged the power cable back in, the problem would go away. the audio problem wasn't consistant but the cable trick would alway work. i believe there is some kind of confict between the traffic radio and the unit.
as far as operation, i believe u will be happy with it. it is designed for the trucks so if u try it on a road (while in truck mode) that doesn't allow commercial traffic (like the nathez trace) it will tell u u aren't allowed and tell u to get off. u will have to switch to automobile mode to navigate.
on truck, it will route u on the truck routes. overpass info works well as well.
I also have a garmin 760 and a tom tom one. In this area, garmin does a much better job of routing. fonts are also larger.
something that i found interesting on the 465t: if i tell it to go to lake charles from LA 17 as u enter La, it will take me to I-20 then to US 165. If i wait until i enter I-20 from La 17, it will have me exit on La133 bypassing monroe... a shorter, faster, route and a good road to take a trailer on.
if u can't get a good resolution with the 465t, i've read some good comments abt the cobra (7700 i think). the truck stops sells the cobra and it has a 7" screen and does the same thing as far as truck routing and overpass info. whatever the model #, it is the one made for truckers.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 07:51 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
yvesm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pembroke, NH
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimh View Post
i have the garmin 465t as well. sometimes the audio wouldn't come on when i powered up. when i unpluged the power cable, powered up, then pluged the power cable back in, the problem would go away. the audio problem wasn't consistant but the cable trick would alway work. i believe there is some kind of confict between the traffic radio and the unit.
as far as operation, i believe u will be happy with it. it is designed for the trucks so if u try it on a road (while in truck mode) that doesn't allow commercial traffic (like the nathez trace) it will tell u u aren't allowed and tell u to get off. u will have to switch to automobile mode to navigate.
on truck, it will route u on the truck routes. overpass info works well as well.
I also have a garmin 760 and a tom tom one. In this area, garmin does a much better job of routing. fonts are also larger.
something that i found interesting on the 465t: if i tell it to go to lake charles from LA 17 as u enter La, it will take me to I-20 then to US 165. If i wait until i enter I-20 from La 17, it will have me exit on La133 bypassing monroe... a shorter, faster, route and a good road to take a trailer on.
if u can't get a good resolution with the 465t, i've read some good comments abt the cobra (7700 i think). the truck stops sells the cobra and it has a 7" screen and does the same thing as far as truck routing and overpass info. whatever the model #, it is the one made for truckers.
The Cobra 7750 is there latest product, a bit pricey but looks nice. My replacement Garmin 465T should be in today. if it still gives me grief I will get something else.
__________________
2013 Prime Time 230 FBS
Days camped in 2013: April to November
Days camped in 2014...about 40
Days camped in 2015...more than 2014!!
yvesm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 08:17 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Moose Jaw, Sask. Canada
Posts: 69
I bought a garmin 255w a week ago at canadian tire. Heard that garmin had the best maping. Took it back yesterday. Living in rural Sask. it was directing me down all the back roads, if you didn't know the country it would get you lost and stuck(possibly dead) so fast. No way to change priorties. Will stick with my sony-not real good but at least it keeps you on main highways!
__________________
ayotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 08:35 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,260
I have a Garmin 750 which i bought a few years ago and have had no problems with it, but it does need to be up dated. Is it cheaper to up date or buy a new one?
__________________
rockwood06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 08:39 AM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockwood06 View Post
I have a Garmin 750 which i bought a few years ago and have had no problems with it, but it does need to be up dated. Is it cheaper to up date or buy a new one?
Get the lifetime map update plan. New maps and features (restaurants and stuff) are updated quarterly. WELL worth the money. My Garmin is 4 years old and works wonderfully.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 08:52 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
Get the lifetime map update plan. New maps and features (restaurants and stuff) are updated quarterly. WELL worth the money. My Garmin is 4 years old and works wonderfully.
Thanks Lou, i will check into it........
__________________

__________________
rockwood06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.