Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2014, 09:04 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 50
Also you don't HAVE to get warranty work where you bought it, call around and find someone else that will do warranty repairs that doesn't take so long..
__________________

__________________
proggod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 09:39 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
Brian my gennie is 30 amps and has a 30 amp breaker.
I can run a/c, HW heater and converter without popping breaker.

TURBS.
Need numbers, as per your post...

OP....One thing that would tell the story is shore power. Does that work?
__________________

__________________
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 11:15 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
SKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,428
Check the oil level. If it's marginal then when it's running at a low engine speed it's fine. But load it and as the engine revs up the oil gets slung around the crankcase effectively lowering the level in the sump which could be tripping the oil level sensor and shutting the engine off.

If you're overloading it then it should lug down and kick the breaker. But it just shutting down when loaded tells me a safety alert is kicking in, oil level is the easiest to check.

And it doesn't have to be "Low" to trip the sensor. My Honda can be halfway down the crosshatch on the stick and trip the level alert.
__________________
Now-2014 Sierra 346RETS 5er BUB
Then-2002 Keystone Springdale 286RLDS TT

Nights camped in 2014-28, 2015-127, 2016-10
SKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 11:16 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKnight View Post
Check the oil level. If it's marginal then when it's running at a low engine speed it's fine. But load it and as the engine revs up the oil gets slung around the crankcase effectively lowering the level in the sump which could be tripping the oil level sensor and shutting the engine off.

If you're overloading it then it should lug down and kick the breaker. But it just shutting down when loaded tells me a safety alert is kicking in, oil level is the easiest to check.

And it doesn't have to be "Low" to trip the sensor. My Honda can be halfway down the crosshatch on the stick and trip the level alert.

I did check the oil level. It's good and looks brand new.
__________________
ShooterGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 11:36 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,602
Wish I was on the Beach its 19 F here now and with windchill -2 F. Beach=Nice.

I hope you find out the issue. Ones question, have you ever run it on Shore Power?
__________________
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 11:39 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by B and B View Post
Wish I was on the Beach its 19 F here now and with windchill -2 F. Beach=Nice.

I hope you find out the issue. Ones question, have you ever run it on Shore Power?

Yes. We have. Our first time taking it out we ran the ac on shore power without issue.
__________________
ShooterGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 09:17 AM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lebanon MO
Posts: 150
Have a generator similar to yours at work on a hazmat trailer. It has a switch that you have to use when placing generator under a load. It is located right in front with the cover off. Maybe yours has one also.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Flagstaff 8528 ckss fiver
2008 Ford f350 dually 4x4 desiel
racerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 09:29 AM   #38
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerx View Post
Have a generator similar to yours at work on a hazmat trailer. It has a switch that you have to use when placing generator under a load. It is located right in front with the cover off. Maybe yours has one also.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
And what's the switch do?

TURBS.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 09:37 AM   #39
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lebanon MO
Posts: 150
It is a 30 amp breaker switch that is off to start and run generator to warm up or periodic runs.Than switch to place under load.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Flagstaff 8528 ckss fiver
2008 Ford f350 dually 4x4 desiel
racerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 09:38 AM   #40
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerx View Post
It is a 30 amp breaker switch that is off to start and run generator to warm up or periodic runs.Than switch to place under load.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Interesting!

TURBS.
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.