Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-21-2007, 02:19 PM   #1

Generators...small...quiet...lightweight

Looking around for a generator for the TT.

Must be quiet, as we sometimes camp back in the wilderness (the wife doesn't know yet!)
It'd be nice to have a light one, but not required. 120 lbs or less would be ok.

Mostly I'd like it to run a 13.5k AC unit with a little left over. Would a 2000 do it?

Also looking at Honda, Kipor and Yamaha. I'd like quality too, but budget is a concern, I don't have $2000 to spend on a gen.

Oh, yeah, gotta have a clean sine wave for the laptops and LCD panel.

Any recommendations? I've been looking hard at the EU2000i and the Kipor 3500ti.
WWTT29FKSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 10:43 PM   #2

Don't have any answers for you, as I'm new to most all of this, but have been contemplating if a generator will be needed for our outings.

It's a long read, but many lower cost alternatives are mentioned in this rv.net thread..
Old 01-22-2007, 01:01 AM   #3

I had a Honda EU 3000 about 2 trailers ago. It was the best portable I ever had. It ran my 15000 btu AC along with lights ect with ease. It might weigh a little more than 120 lbs though

2000 Volvo 660 D12 425 hp 1550 torque 15 speed, Trailer Saver air ride hitch. 2006 Canadian Sport 385 RLTS 40'10" triple slide, triple axle 5'er toybox, 300 watts solar, 3000 watt inverter, Onan 5500 Marques Platnum. 1998 Polaris 300 Explorer 4X4 quad, 2003 Polaris 700 Sportsman 4X4 quad, 1994 Jeep YJ "TOAD" 3" lift 31" ProComp Mud Terrain tires

https://community.webshots.com/user/Bears319

https://www.picturetrail.com/bears319

Mission Statement : ZZZZzzzzz
Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 02:18 PM   #4

Easy choice, Yamaha EF2400iS