Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2015, 04:21 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Grey Wolf 26dbh rear view camera installation

My 2015 Grey Wolf comes pre-wired for a Furrion wireless camera, however I just want to install another cheaper brand. On the surface it seemed simple enough, I just removed Furrion plug and attached my cameras plug but no power was present. I tested for power and got no reading. Has some else had a similar problem? Is there something else I need to do? Any help would be greatly appreciated..... Regards Henry
__________________

__________________
HenryEakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 04:43 PM   #2
Usually Confused Member
 
emm-dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,604
You have to have the "running lights" in order to get power to the Furion power wire.
__________________

__________________
At some point during every day you suddenly realize nothing else productive is going to happen the rest of that day. For me, it usually occurs around 9 am.

Vengeance 25V (the Harley needed a home)
emm-dee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 08:47 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
rmac04401's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Adams County, PA
Posts: 1,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryEakin View Post
My 2015 Grey Wolf comes pre-wired for a Furrion wireless camera, however I just want to install another cheaper brand. On the surface it seemed simple enough, I just removed Furrion plug and attached my cameras plug but no power was present. I tested for power and got no reading. Has some else had a similar problem? Is there something else I need to do? Any help would be greatly appreciated..... Regards Henry

What cheaper brand are you using?
__________________
2016 Grey Wolf 26rr
2005 Honda VTX 1300
2012 Ram 2500 Crew cab 6.5 bed
5.7L Hemi, 3:73 Rear
Ron & Shirley (Empty Nesters)
rmac04401 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 11:35 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
I have the running lights on and still no power? The built-in wireless system I have is by Tadi Brothers and I verified it is working fine so it is strictly a power issue.
__________________
HenryEakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 11:47 AM   #5
Usually Confused Member
 
emm-dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryEakin View Post
I have the running lights on and still no power? The built-in wireless system I have is by Tadi Brothers and I verified it is working fine so it is strictly a power issue.
Hmmmm...that's interesting. The furnished wire terminates in a plug specific to the Furrion. On mine I just cut the plug off, used a voltmeter to verify polarity and connected. Works fine as soon as the lights come on.

Have you put a voltmeter on the wire to check output?
__________________
At some point during every day you suddenly realize nothing else productive is going to happen the rest of that day. For me, it usually occurs around 9 am.

Vengeance 25V (the Harley needed a home)
emm-dee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 02:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Wisconsin/Florida
Posts: 791
I'm a little confused. You have pre-wired and wireless in the same sentence. If you are wiring another brand camera to a Furion cable, the issue is likely due to proprietary wiring from Furion. In other words, the power for the Furion cable may be the video feed on the Tadi Brothers camera. There is very little standardization for mobile video cabling. They probably do it because they want you to use their products. I learned this when trying to connect a Rear View Safety trailer camera to a Panasonic head unit.
__________________
PenJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 02:44 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
nomad297's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by PenJoe View Post
I'm a little confused. You have pre-wired and wireless in the same sentence. If you are wiring another brand camera to a Furion cable, the issue is likely due to proprietary wiring from Furion. In other words, the power for the Furion cable may be the video feed on the Tadi Brothers camera. There is very little standardization for mobile video cabling. They probably do it because they want you to use their products. I learned this when trying to connect a Rear View Safety trailer camera to a Panasonic head unit.
Makes no difference. All he needs is a hot wire.

Bruce
__________________
2016 Rockwood Windjammer 3029W Diamond
2015 Chevy 3500HD LTZ 6.0 Crew Cab 4x4 Long Bed 4.10:1 SRW
nomad297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 03:25 PM   #8
Usually Confused Member
 
emm-dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by emm-dee View Post
You have to have the "running lights" in order to get power to the Furion power wire.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PenJoe View Post
I'm a little confused. You have pre-wired and wireless in the same sentence. If you are wiring another brand camera to a Furion cable, the issue is likely due to proprietary wiring from Furion. In other words, the power for the Furion cable may be the video feed on the Tadi Brothers camera. There is very little standardization for mobile video cabling. They probably do it because they want you to use their products. I learned this when trying to connect a Rear View Safety trailer camera to a Panasonic head unit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nomad297 View Post
Makes no difference. All he needs is a hot wire.

Bruce
Correct. But the factory installed wire(s) terminate with a Furrion proprietary plug. Any camera needs some sort of power, usually 12 vdc. You have to cut off the Furrion connector to get access to that power.

Unless the camera has built in direct transmitting capability you have to have something wired up somewhere to get the signal into a format recognizable by the monitor (independent or iPhone/iPad). Due to all the metals and other interference between the camera and the monitor, self contained cameras are not very reliable past the rear bumper of the towing vehicle
__________________
At some point during every day you suddenly realize nothing else productive is going to happen the rest of that day. For me, it usually occurs around 9 am.

Vengeance 25V (the Harley needed a home)
emm-dee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 03:30 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
nomad297's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by emm-dee View Post
Correct. But the factory installed wire(s) terminate with a Furrion proprietary plug. Any camera needs some sort of power, usually 12 vdc. You have to cut off the Furrion connector to get that power.

Unless the camera has built in direct transmitting capability you have to have something wired up somewhere to get the signal into a format recognizable the by the monitor (independent or iPhone/iPad). Due to all the metals and other interference between the camera and the monitor, self contained cameras are not very reliable past the rear bumper of the towing vehicle
The pre-wire for the Furion camera does not have a video feed cable. The video signal is wireless.

Bruce
__________________
2016 Rockwood Windjammer 3029W Diamond
2015 Chevy 3500HD LTZ 6.0 Crew Cab 4x4 Long Bed 4.10:1 SRW
nomad297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 04:29 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Wisconsin/Florida
Posts: 791
Okay, I have the wired/remote concept- a simple 12V circuit and no video feed in the Furrion line When you were checking and got no power reading, did you have a complete circuit? You may have 12V to the camera fitting, but unless it has a ground, you will not get a reading-the circuit is not complete.

Also, how did you remove the Furrion plug to replace it with Tadi Brothers? Is it possible that the power (running lights) was on and shorted out in the exchange process? It may be that the running lights, though on the same circuit as the camera, route through a fuse before going to the camera terminal. If the camera shorted out, the running lights would remain on. A camera fuse is very low amperage. If that is so, you may want to check the fuse panel.

None of us being there, hopefully one of our guesses solves your problem.
__________________

__________________
PenJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
grey wolf

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.