Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-09-2018, 03:10 PM   #1

Hurricane Florence (merge of several Hurricane Florence Threads)

Good afternoon! I am new to the RV world. Bought our Solaire the first of June. We store her (Salty, since we're from the coast) in our driveway beside our storage building. My question is as Hurricane Florence heads straight towards us, we're located in Wilmington, NC. We are not planning on leaving. So what is the best way to help our RV, Salty, whether this major hurricane? Slides In, would seem the best? But do you tie RV's down? A kiss and a prayer and double check our insurance coverage? Any advice would be great for us newbies!

Thank you
Rjoyed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 03:41 PM   #2

I too live in hurricane country. Last summer when Harvey loomed we packed up the trailer and headed west. Even though my area was spared the worst of the damage, I'm glad I made the decision as we were much more comfortable at our full hookup RV park then my friends who stayed and lived without power for up to a week.
I know you made the decision already, but if that thing gets as bad as they are saying and is headed your way, I can't stress enough that it's just a good idea to evacuate. I don't know if this is your first storm, but riding out a monster like that is bad news. As far as your trailer goes, do what you can to secure it, including turning it so the prevailing wind won't hit it broadside, but a Cat 4 will win that battle. After Harvey I saw triple-axles and Class As scattered like children's toys in Rockport.
I'm not one to preach, but if your in the path it's just smart to bail. That's one of the reasons I bought my trailer, and I won't hesitate to use it again. Good luck either way.
DavidBo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 04:15 PM   #3