Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-21-2010, 07:20 PM   #1
Flagstaff 625D Popup

I'm designing a high-end LED bulb and need your input.

I made a couple posts in a thread in the "Dollars and Cents" forum about a LED bulb for my RV that I am designing (I'm a self-taught electrical engineer).

This will be a high-end bulb with extra features such as:
- Constant light output with battery voltage from 11V to 16V.
- Soft start (fades up)
- Low power and nightlight modes (by turning light quickly off and back on)

I just received parts for the prototype it looks good. Full power mode (same lumens as a 921 bulb) pulls 0.4 Amps. Low power mode (which is still pretty bright) pulls 0.2 Amps. And nightlight mode pulls about 0.03 Amps.

I have the different modes working that microcontroller that is easy to program, but is NOT the one that will be in final design (it's too expensive).

I'm looking for ideas for other features that I might design into this. What features would you want in a LED bulb replacement ?

Someone already mentioned a ultra-efficient design, and I may tackle that after this one.

Bean
bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 08:37 PM   #2
Villa Estate 392FLFB

ohhhh. self dimming? sounds good.
Old 10-21-2010, 09:21 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

How about a time delay for off. That way you could switch it off, the get in the bed before it goes out. Not all RV's have a light handy to the bed. May not need to be a separate feature, just put in a 30 second delay off.

And it needs to be cheap. By the way, processor controlled, what is the power draw when in the "off" mode?
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 10:48 PM   #4

Between your original idea and windrider's suggestion, I can't think of anything else to add.
Old 10-21-2010, 11:34 PM   #5
Villa Estate 392FLFB