Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-05-2019, 09:00 AM   #1

Insurance company towing assistance? Worth it?

I am new to the RV world. I just bought a new Wildwood fsx. I just received my insurance papers and the company is Foremost (thru giecko). In the papers it explains about the roadside assistance program that is included in the policy.

We will only use RV 6 months out of the year .

Do I need another roadside assistance policy?

Anyone have experience with Foremost insurance company?

Thanks for all knowledge I am getting from reading these forums.
Bykerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 09:38 AM   #2

Foremost, based out of Grand Rapids, MI, is just another insurance company that tends to specialize in insurance products like RVs, older HOMES, Mobile Homes, ATVs, Snowmobiles, etc., and not the typical Auto and Home markets that most others do.

Foremost has an agreement with many different Independent insurance agents/agencies, but also with other INSURANCE COMPANIES that don't sell their OWN policies for these type of vehicles and homes. GEICO, in this case, is just acting like any other insurance agency and selling you a Foremost policy, since Geico itself does nothing but AUTO.
You may see Geico, and even Progressive, advertise to 'bundle' your Auto and Home, but it's funny that NEITHER of them actually write HOME insurance! They use third-party insurance companies, like Foremost, to do that. In this case, Geico probably didn't have their own market for your RV, since they typically only write MOTORIZED vehicles, and used Foremost to get you a policy to cover it.

but, there also could be a difference in experience if you used GEICO direct, versus a GEICO physical office. They can operate differently.
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 10:45 AM   #3