Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-18-2015, 05:40 PM   #1

Jacking trailer

First off I am new to this so please be gentle.

I am planning on lifting my trailer this weekend on six 6k camico jack stands. this is a semi permanent installation and we do not plan on moving the trailer any time soon. I am thinking that it would be best to get the tires and axel off the ground to help prevent the tires and bearings from getting a flat spot. Is there any issues with doing this? I thought that it would make the trailer more stable as well as there would be no "spring" in it any more.

Any advise would help.

I should add it is a 2015 Hemisphere 272RLIS 35'
ggoodguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 05:56 PM   #2

Is your (BASE) cement if so I see no issues doing this! Youroo!!
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 05:58 PM   #3

X2
Old 06-18-2015, 05:59 PM   #4

it is gravel and I was going to brace the jack stands on patio stones (after levelling them)
ggoodguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 06:15 PM   #5

For a semi permanent situation, I would probably want to put it on pressure treated lumber rather than jack stands. Distributing weight as much as possible on the ground will help with settling issues, and on the frame it will help prevent "tweaking" the frame.

With just jack stands you run the risk of one jack settling more than others creating uneven support and twisting that could lead to other problems.
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 06:18 PM   #6
Mod free 5er

Would be great if you could get 3 or 4 rr ties and put the jack stands on the ties.
Old 06-18-2015, 06:43 PM   #7