Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-02-2016, 08:25 PM   #1

Just got our Wally Receiver for Dish Tailgater

I have been using an older VIP 211K for several years with our Tailgater. I have been concerned about the heat it generates (this unit we had for several years before our Tailgater) and the heat seems to have become worse.

I tried the VIP 211Z and it had some problems out of the box, so I returned it and decided to try the new Wally Receiver.

I really like it! It is a lot more high tech. than either of the 211's. It is very user friendly and has lot's of on screen help and features as well. It is more like the better receivers that you would find in your home...that don't work with the tailgater.

One of my favorite perks is the remote: (a) I could never get the old remote to pair up with the Hisence TV (b) The on screen set up has all the codes built in so no looking up codes for your TV,DVD etc... just scroll through and find your brand/model. (c) Remote does not need "line of site"..in other words I can change channel from the bedroom or while sitting watching the TV outside (d) Lot's of neat features I haven't really tried yet!

It does not have the RF (cable) output to output to the rest of the rig..but I bought a RF Modulator that take your A/V outputs from the Walley and converts it over to coax. Price about $10-$12 bucks from Amazon.

I know it's early in the ride...just installed it yesterday...but I think Dish as finally came up with a great little receiver with RVer's/Tailgaters in mind. The CSR at Dish said he had only commissioned around 5 or 6. I have a feeling as people see and hear more about them, that number will take off.

The Wally was $81.00 online and I bought it on Amazon from The Connection Depot (great folks that had no problem with the return of the 211Z)

Thanks and I hope everyone is enjoying our Independence Weekend!